PDA

View Full Version : Newbie...

yi0rgos
02-22-2013, 12:14 PM
Hi All,

this is my first post here, so please be nice :)

I just started learning Lightwave for personal fulfillment. So I have ordered a book, and I started on watching some tutorials. I have a little problem when I try to move an object; the object always returns to the initial position, and I am left with points at the position that I wanted to move the object. What did I turn ON?

Please see the attachment, of what I am trying to explain.

Kind Regards,

yi0rgos

Snosrap
02-22-2013, 12:54 PM
It looks like a display issue to me. Be sure to install the latest drivers for your graphics card.

UnCommonGrafx
02-22-2013, 02:57 PM
Did you, by chance, copy and paste, in point mode?

That's what I see.

To copy and paste polygons, i.e., the whole object, then you need to do it in polygon mode.

Waves of light
02-22-2013, 03:19 PM
It could be either of the above posts to be fair.

However, I've had similar issues on one of my laptops, it turned out to be a driver issue. It would do the same if I tried to do a 'Bandsaw' cut. Check your graphics card drivers. Also, what are you running LW on laptop, PC... spec?

yi0rgos
02-22-2013, 03:54 PM
I am running LW on a Windows Laptop... i5, 6GB RAM, Radeon HD 7470M 1GB RAM...I also updated the drivers and nothing.... All I am doing in Modeler is to create an object and try to move; no copy or paste.

djwaterman
02-22-2013, 04:22 PM
I sent this to LWG, this is the question followed by their response;

Hi, I'm currently using LW 11.5 on a Dell Vostro Notebook with Windows 8, it has a these specs for the graphic card.

AMD Radeon HD 7670M
Memory 1024 MB
Driver version 8.982.6.0
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000
Driver version 8.982.6.0
OpenGL
Version 4.0.0 - Build 9.17.10.2843
Vendor Intel
Renderer Intel HD Graphics 4000
GLU Version 1.2.2.0 Microsoft Corporation