PDA

View Full Version : Stroke Edges?



objuan
02-20-2013, 12:49 AM
Is their any easy way in Modeler to more or less Stroke all selected edges? Ideally with with a specified shape?

Essentially I want to take an object, and make it into a THICK wireframe.

As a simple example:
I want to take a solid cube on one layer, and a small square about a 10th the size of the cube on a background layer
- and click a button -
and have the small square extruded along all the edges of the cube to create a hollow cube made of wires on the edges a 10th the size of the cube.

As a real example:
I want to take objects fairly more complex than a cube, and draw whatever sort of strange shaped flat poly I want on the background layer
- and click a button / specify how my poly gets oriented to the normals -
and have that fancy poly extruded along all the edges, with fancy corners that meetup all nice and clean with proper merged geometry.

I can imagine that might be asking a lot.
I would settle for something that would turn all edges into elongated cubes of a specified thickness. Better yet it would give me the option to choose cubes, or rounded capsule shapes, so when multiple edges meet at a corner the spheres caps would overlap.


My end goal is to 3d print these objects, so no open ended 'hollow' parts allowed. You can however, have intersecting shapes that dont actually merge in terms of surface geometry, so long as each shape, or in this case rod-afied edge is its own closed object.


Any help or tips would be much appreciated, including I suppose, "try this other software...'

Thanks,
Ocean

UnCommonGrafx
02-20-2013, 03:39 AM
Look at Rail extrude.

objuan
02-20-2013, 04:56 AM
Rail Extrude does indeed allow you to extrude any shaped poly along a line, but only for one single line at a time.

Plus as near as I can tell that line has to be a Bezier or Spline Draw, and you have to manually position your poly at the start or you get pretty whacked out results.
Plausible, but way far from practical for what I want to do.



I found a free program called Top Mod ( http://www.viz.tamu.edu/faculty/ergun/research/topology/ ) that seems pretty cool and kind of does what I had in mind, but I would still love to be able to do it in LW, and specify the poly shape.... ?


attached is a pic of my initial TopMod experiments

111739

raw-m
02-20-2013, 05:59 AM
Could these be useful?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2fYdgZDYXE8

or 11.5's new feature:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JvBD-Wyvze0

daforum
02-20-2013, 06:10 AM
There's also Truss2: http://www.lwplugindb.com/plugin/truss2/

objuan
02-20-2013, 06:17 AM
Huh. Why would I never have thought to put negative numbers in there?

That is pretty much the result I am looking for, but alas, the result I want is geometry I can export as an .obj and send to Shapeways.com, rather than a rendering trick.

Thanks to both of you for trying though.

Next...?

objuan
02-20-2013, 06:32 AM
We have a winner!!!

Thanks daforum, Truss2 is pretty much just what I was looking for.

Although what I really want is to be able to do the same thing with custom defined profiles.
And have it be interactive so I could move 1 point on my wire frame, and all the thick edges would respond.
And be able to specify varying thicknesses at various points along the extrude.
And it would cook me bacon.
And and and....


Thanks

daforum
02-20-2013, 08:56 AM
Glad the script worked but not sure how you would achieve the interactive modeling you are after.

lertola2
02-20-2013, 07:51 PM
We have a winner!!!

Thanks daforum, Truss2 is pretty much just what I was looking for.

Although what I really want is to be able to do the same thing with custom defined profiles.
And have it be interactive so I could move 1 point on my wire frame, and all the thick edges would respond.
And be able to specify varying thicknesses at various points along the extrude.
And it would cook me bacon.
And and and....


Thanks

The LWcad Profiler tool does this. http://www.wtools3d.com/index.php