PDA

View Full Version : MDD multiple layers



Ivan_B
02-17-2013, 06:05 PM
Hi All,

I was wondering if there is a way to MDD separate layers to form one complete MDD file for all the layers...some sort of hierarchy mdd.

I have earth moving equipment (lets say a robot arm) that is split up into separate layers in order to animate them, but I'd like to create a file that has all the info of the complete animation to use multiple times with offset.

I know that MDD works great for a single object with bones animated, i use it often...when trying bones with the robot arm and weight maps the object deformed slightly even after messing with the bone properties.

Is there a way to make the object conform completely to the bones, without any deformation just movement. (lw 10.1)

Thanks
Ivan.

nickdigital
02-17-2013, 06:21 PM
Sounds like you can get close to what you want with dpkit.
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?115780-MDD-Pointer-merging-MDD-s

Ivan_B
02-17-2013, 06:36 PM
Thanks Nick, I do have that plugin, but I have no idea how to use it, dont really know nodes...Can you point me to a tutorial please??

nickdigital
02-17-2013, 07:10 PM
I'd say download the content that's in that thread and look at how the node network is setup.

nickdigital
02-17-2013, 07:15 PM
This thread talks about the same technique.

http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?65470-MDD-node

Ryan Roye
02-17-2013, 08:26 PM
As a side note, here's a way to use multiple MDD files sequentially on a single object (useful if you hit memory ceilings while scanning large chunks of animation).

111661

For taking multiple different layers/objects and having them driven by a single MDD, the solutions linked above may work... i've never ran into a situation that demanded it though.