PDA

View Full Version : Compositing with H.264 DSLR video



Sekhar
02-16-2013, 03:22 PM
I was trying the AE-LW exchange with 11.5 and noticed that I can't add H.264 DSLR video (shot on Canon EOS 6D) in the background. How're you guys using DSLR footage? It's been a while since I composited video with LW, so I'm not sure what the latest situation/limitation is. BTW, the export from AE to LW worked great in my little test, great job NT!

lwanmtr
02-16-2013, 07:28 PM
If you can convert to quicktime or image sequence, that will work. I always convert any video i need to composite to a sequence, personally.

Just use AE to export a tga or psd sequence.

Sekhar
02-16-2013, 07:45 PM
Thanks, yes that's what I'm doing now as a workaround, but why won't the original file work? The render is extra time/effort/space. All I want to do is see the original footage in the background so I know the composite will work well...the actual compositing I'll be doing elsewhere (After Effects or SpeedGrade).

lwanmtr
02-16-2013, 07:50 PM
Hmm...I just loaded an h.264 movie into layout. loaded fine...maybe there is something about the direct from camera file?

Sekhar
02-16-2013, 07:56 PM
I think it's a platform thing: I'm on Windows 64 bit, and I remember reading something about LW not supporting the codecs on that platform (apparently 32 bit is OK). From you sig, I presume you're on Mac? If yes, can someone on Win64 confirm or give a workaround?

lwanmtr
02-16-2013, 08:03 PM
I use Mac most often...but yeah, I've always had issues with movie files on Windows xp, xp64 and Win7. One of the reasons I got use to making an image squence...lol

Sekhar
02-18-2013, 07:00 PM
Does anyone on Windows have a suggestion on this? DSLR footage is everywhere these days, and I can't believe LW won't accept it as background...there must be something I'm missing. Anyone from NT?

lwanmtr
02-18-2013, 07:10 PM
Its not neccessarily a NewTek issue...Lightwave uses the codecs available to your OS, so if Winblows doesnt have it, you might look for a 3rd party codec or install Quicktime?

Sekhar
02-18-2013, 10:30 PM
No, this is specific to LW. EVERY other app (from players like QT/WMP to AE) I tried opens the video just fine...I'm having problems only with LW.

lwanmtr
02-18-2013, 10:35 PM
Strange. I dont have any DSLR video to try on the mac version.

Thomas Leitner
02-19-2013, 04:47 AM
I think it's a platform thing: I'm on Windows 64 bit, and I remember reading something about LW not supporting the codecs on that platform (apparently 32 bit is OK). From you sig, I presume you're on Mac? If yes, can someone on Win64 confirm or give a workaround?

what you are pointing at is a Quick Time issue! Quick Time is only 32 bit no 64 bit version (LW 32 bit can read it, LW 64 bit not). So what´s your file extension?

ciao
Thomas

Sekhar
02-22-2013, 02:38 PM
what you are pointing at is a Quick Time issue! Quick Time is only 32 bit no 64 bit version (LW 32 bit can read it, LW 64 bit not). So what´s your file extension?

Yeah, but NT should figure a way out. LW isn't the only 64 bit app using QT...Adobe 64 bit apps (After Effects, Premiere Pro, SpeedGrade, etc.) work just fine with DSLR QT videos because Adobe implemented their own importer rather than rely on Apple. And it'd be great if NT can do the same (or license something). DSLR video has become really popular, and ignoring it isn't a good idea. Meanwhile, any suggestions/workarounds would really help...perhaps using a frame server?

lwanmtr
02-22-2013, 02:42 PM
Those apps are probably running a 32bit plug to use the video.

Sekhar
02-22-2013, 02:48 PM
It's their Adobe QT32 Server...the point was that they implemented a solution to have their 64 bit apps open QT, and NT can do the same.

lwanmtr
02-22-2013, 02:56 PM
Maybe now that there is a more direct interaction with AE, Newtek will work on that.

SonicMotion
02-22-2013, 07:40 PM
You can always try changing your file extension from .mov to .mp4 to see if that will force a directshow decode vs a quicktime decode - no promises though.

Sekhar
02-22-2013, 07:43 PM
I did try that as a matter of fact, didn't work.