PDA

View Full Version : installing LW content

hhnguyen
02-01-2013, 10:28 PM
Hello

I'm new to LW and not sure how to install or what to do with the LW content files. Greatly appreciate any advices

Regards
hhnguyen

nickdigital
02-01-2013, 10:45 PM
You need to set your Content directory to the folder of the demo material you want to look at. To do that hit the "o" key to bring up the Options panel. Then click on the Content directory button and point to the folder you want. The folder will have the folders Images, Objects and Scenes in it.

hhnguyen
02-01-2013, 10:52 PM
Done

Thanks Nickdigital

jeric_synergy
02-01-2013, 11:37 PM
To do that hit the "o" key to bring up the Options panel.
BTW, I always reassign "o" to "OBJECT MODE" because SHIFT+O is just stupid. SHIFT+O becomes my Option Panel key-- I switch modes 'wayyyyyy more often than I need the Options Panel.

Same with all the mode hotkeys: using a shift key is very very un-ergonomic.

You can keep the old hotkey, because functions can have redundant hotkeys. But you should change the hotkeys to fit you best.

BeeVee
02-03-2013, 04:34 PM
BTW. For a long while you haven't had to make LightWave's content directory right before loading a scene. LightWave will ask if you you want to change content directory if you are not currently on the right one. Sorry if that's confusing to you hhnguyen, it's meant as a comment for the two old hands on this thread more than you :)

B

TIMMYLYNN
02-04-2013, 08:20 PM