PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave 11 issues - Polygon selection and angles - Please help a n00b

sledgecallier
01-30-2013, 06:28 AM
Hi there,

I am currently using Lightwave 11 to model an object for 3D printing. However, I am currently facing a couple of issues that I am hoping the forum can help me with. (I confess I am still learning Lightwave so please bear with me.)

First problem is occurring when trying to select polygons. A simple task, you would think, but I am getting a situation where I am trying to select a polygon but instead the application is either selecting a polygon from a side below the required polygon, or not selecting a polygon at all. It almost seems as if the focus point of the cursor is not focusing on the top polygon? My guess is that there may be a setting somewhere that defines what is selected, but cannot seem to find anything anywhere? It has to be said that if I zoom a way out from of the surface and ensure the face is truly face on then I can select the polygon required, but with small scale, detailed models many of the polygons are quite small. (I am possibly not making much sense, but hopefully you see the problem I am having?)

The other problem is more related directly to the fact that I am modelling for 3D printing. As a rule, it is best to not have any polygons with zero degree angles. (I am trying to rule out zero degree polygons but using boolean joins to give me a single shell seems to make this inevitable?) My question is this, is there some way within Lightwave to highlight or show where any zero degree polygons exist within a model? The statistics panel doesn't seem to have this level of detail, and again, I can see nothing in the manuals or help files that would assist?

Many thanks.

zardoz
01-30-2013, 06:56 AM