PDA

View Full Version : Stencil not working



sebrady
01-29-2013, 09:16 AM
stencil does not work. my "cutter" came from Illustrator. I suspect LW is NOT seeing the EPS file as polys or something like that. Can anyone explain what the Illustrator export and LW import settings should be. Thanks.

Afalk
01-29-2013, 09:56 AM
AI 8 or lower on export mode fo .ai or .eps files if memory serves -->> sorry not at my workstation :; sigh ::

sebrady
01-29-2013, 12:03 PM
I already did exactly as you said, I used v8 as the export, I saved as both ai and eps.......the file comes in to LW.......LW says not enough memory. see attached screenshot of imported ai file.

110770

DrStrik9
01-29-2013, 12:23 PM
In that situation, I often have to extrude the cutting polys and use good ol' boolean. In rare occasions, you might need to extrude everything, then delete unwanted portions later. Don't forget to merge points after. If that fails, take a very close look at your original ai file. Check for hidden loops and double-paths.

jeric_synergy
01-29-2013, 02:59 PM
I already did exactly as you said, I used v8 as the export, I saved as both ai and eps.......the file comes in to LW.......LW says not enough memory. see attached screenshot of imported ai file.

110770
How many points in that? Looks like a lot.

Here's something you could try: use EVERY NTH to select every other point, and just kill it-- there's plenty left over to define the logo.
Or re-import as a lower detail level.

Can you SELECT the big empty polys? What exactly are you trying to get to?

Dexter2999
01-29-2013, 04:47 PM
Too many points. Too complex of a shape (because of the number of points as well.)

Also, cant tell from that post if that shape is actually polys or just a very complex poly chain.
Some logos I used to get in AI I would have to "Create Outline" prior to saving to get an actual poly result.
Even so, with that many points you are going to make LW "tap out". Try using the Knife tool to cut that shape into smaller more manageable chunks.

Even that outer disk has an insane number of points on it.

Hope this helps.

jeric_synergy
01-29-2013, 05:03 PM
I don't know what the OP wants, but it looks to me like all the bits ARE there.

sebrady
01-29-2013, 05:12 PM
thanks for all your help, I will try your options and let you know how it goes. I am trying to model an old RCA 77DX microphone.

- - - Updated - - -

110778

Dexter2999
01-29-2013, 05:14 PM
If you want, post the EPS and I'll take a look at it.

Afalk
01-29-2013, 05:28 PM
You could also try importing at a lesser quality than what appears to be super-fine resolution. You have a TON of smoothing and curve management tools inside of modeler after all.

jeric_synergy
01-29-2013, 06:08 PM
Yeah, that's 'WwayyyyyYYYYYyyyy too many points, there's no reason for that many.

Dexter2999
01-30-2013, 06:18 PM
110844

Meh, had some time... here's my swipe at it.


EDITED: Embarassing, flipped polys. Fixed.