PDA

View Full Version : Center pivot without changing position at Layout?



vector
01-24-2013, 01:32 AM
HI

I have a few objects located in a scene. Their pivots are at 0 0 0 but objects aren't (in modeler). When I make center pivot at modeler, they appear centered at 0 0 0 in layout. Could I center those pivots and keep the objects in their
position?

Thanks

Vector

djwaterman
01-24-2013, 01:53 AM
Use the modify move pivot tool in layout. It allows you to move the pivot point of any object, but only in Layout, so they remain as they were in Modeler. This is found right next to the move tool in layout. You don't need to key frame it, just move it to where you want the pivot to be and then swap back to the move tool and you'll see that the objects move icon has been repositioned to where you put the pivot.

vector
01-24-2013, 03:30 AM
Thanks, I know that. The problem is I have dozens of the same ítem (a maya scene I received) and what I want is to replace them with nulls and instance them. But I need their pivots at their base

Jim M
01-24-2013, 05:10 AM
Replace with Null in layout.
Change Pivot in modeler.
Replace Nulls in Layout with new object.

I feel your pain.

Jim M
01-24-2013, 05:13 AM
You can multi select objects and replace with Null in Layout.

Hail
01-24-2013, 06:20 AM
Here is a quick tip from dwburman that ll make u smile:)
Cheers!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3IdQmqin1J4