PDA

View Full Version : Element 3D 1.5



rcallicotte
01-22-2013, 07:30 AM
http://vimeo.com/57924775

Is it possible to export animated object sequences from Lightwave?

rcallicotte
01-22-2013, 09:10 AM
This comes out today along with the Metropolitan Pack. I've searched to find some OBJ sequence plugins for Lightwave without many hits and what I did see seemed sort of strewn together. No complaints, but curious if this is something someone has created as a single solid solution. If you know of anything, please post it hear to help anyone (like me) interested in this new version of the Element 3D plugin.

CGriver.com
01-22-2013, 10:33 AM
This comes out today along with the Metropolitan Pack. I've searched to find some OBJ sequence plugins for Lightwave without many hits and what I did see seemed sort of strewn together. No complaints, but curious if this is something someone has created as a single solid solution. If you know of anything, please post it hear to help anyone (like me) interested in this new version of the Element 3D plugin.

We know there are cinema 4d plug-ins that will allow you to export animated object sequences. You can try Riptide Pro or Plexus obj Exporter. Unfortunately, we do not have any idea if there are any for lightwave. What about 3ds max? Does anyone know if it can do it without 3rd party plugins?

By the way, both Element 3D V1.5 and Metropolitan will be available at discounted price on http://www.cgriver.com.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=u_p_fUfKYTM

rcallicotte
01-22-2013, 10:35 AM
@CGRiver.com - The problem with these two options is I don't own Cinema 4D.

nickdigital
01-22-2013, 10:57 AM
http://vimeo.com/57924775

Is it possible to export animated object sequences from Lightwave?

Is this what you're looking for?
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?122155-Exporting-OBJ-sequences-for-use-with-Trapcode-Form-2

rcallicotte
01-22-2013, 11:09 AM
Nick, thanks. I'm so glad you came by, because I looked at that and immediately assumed I don't know how to deal with that script you wrote. But, now I can ask you - is this just an LS script I can add like any other LS scripts? If so, I'm trying it. :)




Is this what you're looking for?
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?122155-Exporting-OBJ-sequences-for-use-with-Trapcode-Form-2

nickdigital
01-22-2013, 11:14 AM
Yep, it should work like any other lscript.

rcallicotte
01-22-2013, 12:31 PM
Nick, it exports fine. Thanks. The only trouble is that each frame exported has a warning saying it can't export it. But, it does. :)

nickdigital
01-22-2013, 12:42 PM
What version of LW are you using and what platform?

Could try turning your Alert Level to Low. You'll still get the error but it'll just put it in the message bar so you don't see it in the Main Window.

rcallicotte
01-22-2013, 12:54 PM
11. I'll try doing this. Thanks!!



What version of LW are you using and what platform?

Could try turning your Alert Level to Low. You'll still get the error but it'll just put it in the message bar so you don't see it in the Main Window.

raw-m
01-22-2013, 03:48 PM
I love how the global ambient occ is just a tick box with a few sliders rather than the hoops us LW users have to go through to get it! It's such a good piece of software it's giving me a headache deciding what I can get away in AE or doing it in LW, especially using instances. The obj seq inclusion is an excellent addition :D

nickdigital
01-22-2013, 04:56 PM
Updated version of IL here:
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?122155-Exporting-OBJ-sequences-for-use-with-Trapcode-Form-2&p=1294080&viewfull=1#post1294080

rcallicotte
01-22-2013, 07:33 PM
BRILLIANT! Thank you so much. You didn't need to do that and I appreciate it very much.



Updated version of IL here:
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?122155-Exporting-OBJ-sequences-for-use-with-Trapcode-Form-2&p=1294080&viewfull=1#post1294080

rcallicotte
01-22-2013, 07:37 PM
And it's out - https://www.videocopilot.net/products/3d/metropolitan/

raw-m
01-23-2013, 02:17 AM
Have you bought any of these models? Do they import into LW ok with textures? Would be good to see NewTek to reach out to VideoCoPilot, seeing lwos' supplied as standard would be a great promotion for LW.

Hail
01-23-2013, 03:04 AM
Nice plug! I can't wait to play with it in 11.5:D

rcallicotte
01-23-2013, 07:53 AM
It comes with some models, but I would be going the other way (into AE) from LWO by using OBJ.




Have you bought any of these models? Do they import into LW ok with textures? Would be good to see NewTek to reach out to VideoCoPilot, seeing lwos' supplied as standard would be a great promotion for LW.

machbeowulf
01-23-2013, 08:13 AM
Updated version of IL here:
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?122155-Exporting-OBJ-sequences-for-use-with-Trapcode-Form-2&p=1294080&viewfull=1#post1294080

Just what I have been looking for ... Thank you so much for this ! Incredibly useful and works like a charm !

wesleycorgi
01-24-2013, 01:58 PM
What are the render times on Element 3d via AE like? I've been so tempted to pick up for the past few months, especially now with the Metro bundle.

Darth Mole
01-24-2013, 02:52 PM
It depends - with small, light geometry it's practically realtime. With something like Metropolitan, where you have heavy geometry, high sampling values, maybe depth-of-field, then frames are much slower - but we're talking seconds not minutes. It is, frankly, bloody quick (dependant on your GPU of course). It's a very useful tool and ideal for all sorts of things (text and shape bevelling is excellent, and I recommend getting the pro shaders pack - but the motion graphics pack, ah, not so much). Element is actually really good fun to use, too.

wesleycorgi
01-24-2013, 04:04 PM
Darth Mole: thanks for the insight. I was leaning towards the Metro/E3D bundle, but maybe I'll pick up the full 3D architecture bundle.

TheDynamo
01-24-2013, 04:12 PM
It depends - with small, light geometry it's practically realtime. With something like Metropolitan, where you have heavy geometry, high sampling values, maybe depth-of-field, then frames are much slower - but we're talking seconds not minutes. It is, frankly, bloody quick (dependant on your GPU of course). It's a very useful tool and ideal for all sorts of things (text and shape bevelling is excellent, and I recommend getting the pro shaders pack - but the motion graphics pack, ah, not so much). Element is actually really good fun to use, too.

I can concur with Darth Mole here. There are some issues with precision and control without buying an external script (look for Elementary on aescripts.com).Also, don't plan on it casting shadows or applying actual refraction to 3D elements yet. I've had some issues using AE layers together in conjunction with Element 3D and camera movement but like it was said above with a Nvidia GTX 580 2GB this thing is roaringly fast. I've used it on several client projects so far, it comes in REAL handy when dealing with clients who are unfamiliar with the concept of time to get things done and last minute changes :). Andrew Kramer and friends should get a round of applause here.

-Rob

WaxSteel
01-25-2013, 09:29 AM
Anyone had any luck with getting their preshattered multi objects into Element 3D from Lightwave?
I'm trying to get a Jigsaw puzzle modeled in LW into Element & flying it apart.
Even if I open up one of their supplied shattered objects obj's and resave it as another .obj fromLightwave modeler (9.6) I lose the ability to animate it as a multi object.

Any ideas?

raw-m
01-25-2013, 12:21 PM
I seem to remember having a similar issue. Unless all the parts where on separate layers and they were all 'visible' when saving it wouldn't work - not great for fractured objects. I'll be happy to be told otherwise, though.

WaxSteel
02-06-2013, 07:45 AM
Hmmm. Tried opening (in Blender) the default floor fracture obj that comes in the E3d Starter Pack in Blender & then re exporting as an OBJ. Made sure the "Include Normals "option was checked & it worked (I could fly it apart), though it looked a bit funny.

Does Lightwave not export a vertex normal map in its OBJ's. (using 9.6)

OnlineRender
02-06-2013, 07:48 AM
I got on error with the textures regarding Layout and Bullet , I fractured a cube in layout and simulated it smashing with bullet , exported the obj sequence imported fine in Element however the materials would not apply even with fix normals or autoassign normals , I could a sort of material however it looked gimped

rcallicotte
02-08-2013, 07:09 AM
Maybe let Andrew know? If enough of us pay attention to letting him know, maybe he will pay attention to LW.



I got on error with the textures regarding Layout and Bullet , I fractured a cube in layout and simulated it smashing with bullet , exported the obj sequence imported fine in Element however the materials would not apply even with fix normals or autoassign normals , I could a sort of material however it looked gimped