PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave 5.6

Azraelle
01-15-2013, 07:13 AM
Hi all

Brand new to Lightwave and these forums.

I've managed to pick up a cheap copy of 5.6 still sealed on ebay, the company went into liquidation. I'm brand new to 3D modelling, animation etc and was hoping somebody knows a good place to find some tutorials that would still work with 5.6. My plan is to work with this version to learn what I'm doing and once I feel I'm making progress and to be blunt that my work is any good upgrade/buy the latest version.

I've seen a few books on ebay and amazon such as lightwave applied 5.6 so will pick those up but the more information and tutorials I can find the better.

Thanks.

50one
01-15-2013, 07:26 AM
5.6? Blimey, i started with 6.0 around 2000 it was or something. I would rather upgrade this 5.6 into latest version(cross upgrade price applies to all previous version) i think you will be able to do more in Blender, which is free than in ancient 5.6

Mitja
01-15-2013, 07:46 AM
Hi all

I've managed to pick up a cheap copy of 5.6 still sealed on ebay, the company went into liquidation. I'm brand new to 3D modelling, animation etc and was hoping somebody knows a good place to find some tutorials that would still work with 5.6. My plan is to work with this version to learn what I'm doing and once I feel I'm making progress and to be blunt that my work is any good upgrade/buy the latest version.

I've seen a few books on ebay and amazon such as lightwave applied 5.6 so will pick those up but the more information and tutorials I can find the better.

Thanks.

My advice: don't.
It would be like learning something that's already gone. Drop 5.6 and upgrade, or learn some other free software in the meantime.
Modern software work with similar philosophy, I believe in 5.6 you won't find anything usable in modern software.
So it would be a waste of time and money (books on 5.6).

RebelHill
01-15-2013, 07:47 AM