PDA

View Full Version : New workstation / graphics card?



Taran-Q
01-14-2013, 05:11 AM
As I am about to buy a new workstation for use with mainly Lightwave (but also 3dsMax). What would be a good choice.
It shouldn't be the most expensive one, just good overal performance for a fair price.
I am especially interested in opinions about what graphic card to use, as to be honest, no matter what card we have used in the past, there never was a great performance in LW.

3DGFXStudios
01-14-2013, 05:48 AM
A geforce 660 or 670 is nice and cheap.

Danner
01-14-2013, 06:45 AM
Gforce 670 works fine here, don't spend your cash on a Quadro or FireGL card, with the money difference you are better off getting a faster CPU. Looking at Octane benchmarks a 670 does pretty good on that too in case you might try a GPU render down the line. (In that case get the one with the most memory)

Kryslin
01-14-2013, 10:13 AM
OK, I've got a question - Can you drive 2 monitors whose combined resolution is greater than what the card will support?

I'm looking to replace my li'l Quadro FX580 cards ( a pair) which drive 2 1920 x 1200 HP flatpanels. Can I replace the 2 cards with one, or am I going to need 2 cards? I do have other applications which do use GPU acceleration, will they work with a desktop gaming card as well?

BeeVee
01-14-2013, 11:03 AM
I drive two 1920x1080 monitors with the single card in my sig, and the same goes for my laptop, which is usually hooked up to a second monitor or a projector.

B

TheDynamo
01-14-2013, 12:03 PM
A geforce 660 or 670 is nice and cheap.

Wow, you can pick up a 680 for only a smidgen more. I'm running a 580 at the moment (I do a lot of work in After Effects and it works well with it) and being the 680 is just a version above that it's gotta do some smoking.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130768

-Rob

wibly wobly
01-14-2013, 01:15 PM
I'm driving two 1920x1200 Dell screens with on a slightly OC 670 (factory done that is) and it's just fine. The only thing that I lament the loss of that only the Quadro's have (as far as I know, unless you do some software hackery) is the ability to have two or more screens act as one. The old horizontal span mode if you remember. That's been gone from the GeForce line for a while now because, so I'm told, NVidia doesn't think it's a feature that we need. I never used it very often but, it was handy to pull out sometimes. The Gygabyte card I have is covered in fans and I can barely hear the computer run. It's really nice.

Danner
01-14-2013, 02:16 PM
I tested dual 2560x1600 on the 670, it went pretty smooth. It was pretty cool having that much resolution, but honestly it's a bit too much having two 27" monitors. I had to roll my chair side to side to read the text on the edges. I used to love having two monitors, but I prefer a single high-rez 27" now a days. (love my HP ZR2740w)

LW_Will
01-14-2013, 02:52 PM
Just got a GTX 660 and it is AMAZING.
Seemed to be the best balance of graphic RAM (2MB), CUDA (960 cores), and low power use (450mhz required, single cord not two) with a 'low' cost.
Still trying to figure out all of the functions, but I am very much digging the card so far!

Kryslin
01-15-2013, 10:33 AM
Looks like I pick up a 4GB 670 card, then, and then learn how to set it up. Might need a DVI -> DisplayPort adapter, too.

edit : OK, make that a 2GB 670. Doesn't appear to be any 4GB yet. Don't need the displayport adapter either.

allabulle
01-15-2013, 12:07 PM
I don't know the situation right now, but there was a time when only Quadros would accelerate OpenGL on both monitors. It might very well be outdated information, mind you. Worth a check, anyway, if you are going to need it.

Taran-Q
01-17-2013, 12:32 PM
Thanks everyone for the information!