PDA

View Full Version : Simulating rolling shutter?



vncnt
01-12-2013, 09:45 AM
Now that SynthEyes is capable to solve scenes from cameras with a CMOS rolling shutter this question becomes relevant:

Can LightWave simulate rolling shutter, based on the camera motion channels?
To match backplates.

Like a new type of motion blur.

m.d.
01-13-2013, 12:22 AM
Advanced camera....I did some testing
Very long render times...

50one
01-13-2013, 07:50 AM
Now that SynthEyes is capable to solve scenes from cameras with a CMOS rolling shutter this question becomes relevant:

Can LightWave simulate rolling shutter, based on the camera motion channels?
To match backplates.

Like a new type of motion blur.

There is some funky stuff in the upcoming 11.5 regarding rolling shutter effect - but frankly that's all I know :D

vncnt
01-13-2013, 10:04 AM
Is there an example that explains how to set/animate Ray Start, Ray Direction or Depth Direction in Advanced Camera to get a rolling shutter?

vncnt
01-13-2013, 10:07 AM
There is some funky stuff in the upcoming 11.5 regarding rolling shutter effect - but frankly that's all I know :D

public var isSpeculationMode : boolean = true;

vncnt
01-13-2013, 10:37 AM
Is there an example that explains how to set/animate Ray Start, Ray Direction or Depth Direction in Advanced Camera to get a rolling shutter?

I need to mention that I just followed this example: http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?130163-using-Syntheye-s-new-Rolling-Shutter-capabilities-in-LW

For some reason it does not seem to distort my image.

vncnt
01-31-2013, 03:04 PM
Ah, 11.5 seems to be the answer.