PDA

View Full Version : VPR differs from render and additional questions

Sebasvideo
01-06-2013, 09:38 AM
I'm sure this will turn out to be something really lame that I overlooked since I started learning Lightwave a week ago, but I thought that VPR was the only way to work in Layout that would show what the final render would look like. But I'm :bangwall: and :compbeati trying to find out what am I missing in this silly project I started to practice compositing.

One of the scenes is a giant ball floating over my front yard, with me looking up at it. As you can see in the screen capture, the shadow is not perfect by far, but hopefully in time I'll learn to make more realistic ones. My main problem now is that as you can see the shadow in VPR shows with the color I wanted it to but the final render shows a much darker shadow. I tried to find a tutorial on using the shadow catcher and I didn't find one, so I assumed that the way to do it would be to create a ground plane, position it to match the ground in the footage, apply the shadow catcher node to it and play with the light until I found something that would look more or less decent.

Since the shadow catcher doesn't have any kind of opacity setting for the shadow, and setting transparency in the ground plane once the shadow catcher has been applied doesn't change anything, the only way I could find to make the shadow look more or less real was to adjust the Shadow Color property in the Lights tab.

I went back and forth for the last couple of hours between settings and the surface editor trying to figure out what's wrong, but I'm still getting the same result. It's like somehow the renderer doesn't care about the Shadow Color property, because even if I set that all the way to white, it will still render the same exact shadow, and if I set it to total black, then the shadow in VPR will look darker than the render. So what am I missing?

A couple more :newhere: questions: