PDA

View Full Version : Question about video compositing from beginner

Sebasvideo
01-04-2013, 05:37 PM
I started learning Lightwave less than a week ago. One of the things that led me to download the trial and buy learning materials was to see the demo reel and see how many movies had great CG done in Lightwave. But I'm confused as how video compositing works in it.

I searched this forum and Google for articles and tutorials on how to import video into Layout to composite the 3D object over it, keyframing animation and anything that needs to be done to make it look as part of the original footage, such as textures, lights, etc.

But all I could find was how to import a still image and composite the object over it, but nothing on video. So it looks like Lightwave can't use video as a background? I know that you can work on a scene in Lightwave, render it as a video file with an alpha channel and then put it as a layer in AE, or even Premiere, Edius or any other NLE, but to do something that looks decent you need to work on the scene with the actual video as a background, not only to match colors, lights, shadows, etc, but to animate the model if it's an animal or a person, or just a robot walking.

I know that Lightwave doesn't come with a camera tracker, but that you can do that in other app and then bring the tracking into Lightwave. Still, that's only part of the process, you still need to preview how the object will look in motion over the footage.

Am I missing something here? I mean, seeing all these great clips from movies and TV Shows with CG done in Lightwave, I have to believe I missed something, otherwise it would be almost like flying blind, working on a scene in Lightwave, waiting for it to render, then layering it with the footage in AE or Premiere to see how it looks, then going back to Lightwave to make changes, render again and so on over and over.