PDA

View Full Version : New to 3D and Lightwave, need training materials.

Sebasvideo
12-30-2012, 11:04 AM
Hello,

I'm a videographer with experience in After Effects but I have no experience in 3D design or Lightwave. My goal is to become very proficient in both, for which I downloaded the Lightwave 11 trial and started playing with it, and so far I really like it, so I guess eventually I will buy it, hopefully version 11.5 by then. But I would like to start taking lessons on it, either from a book, DVD or online. I have watched a couple of the beginner tutorials on the Lightwave website but the sound is so horrible and distracting because of all the distortion and thin sound that I would prefer to watch tutorials from another source. I played another tutorial on that website that is more advanced and it has the same abysmal sound quality, so I suppose they all sound the same, like they were recorded over a cell phone with really bad sound quality. Which is sad because actually the tutorials themselves seem pretty good other than that.

So I'm looking for some advice on how to approach the learning process. I would need a way to learn Lightwave from scratch, but also 3D design from scratch. My goal is to use Lightwave mostly to integrate 3D objects and motion with real life footage, like it's done in most movies nowadays, a lot of which is in the Lightwave demo reel.

So far my only experience with 3D is through the Element 3D plugin for After Effects, which can load some models in obj and c4d formats but in a raw way and then the user has to assign textures and colors to the different parts and pieces. But anyone who knows After Effects knows that its 3D is very limited and it needs several workarounds for things that don't behave the way they're supposed to in a real 3D environment, so I would like to learn Lightwave from zero and become proficient with it in a few years.