PDA

View Full Version : Lscript capability query......

TheMightySpud
12-11-2012, 12:02 PM
Hi all,

I'm hoping someone can provide an answer and hopefully point me in the right direction if it is possible.

Is it possible to create an lscript which creates a list of all objects (ignoring anything that isn't an lwo) inside a specified folder and displays said list in a window in Layout?

I do have further questions on this subject but I'll wait until this one has been answered, because if the answer is no, they'll all be pointless :)

Just to note, I'm very new to lScript, but have done some vb.net coding before.

Thanks
TheMightySpud

sami
12-11-2012, 12:56 PM
Can you clarify? lwo's are objects - so what do you mean? Lights cameras etc are not stored in folders as files - they are saved in the .lws scene file. Need to know what you mean before I can say...

TheMightySpud
12-11-2012, 01:09 PM
Okay, sorry if it wasn't clear.

What I want is a window which lists all the lwo files in a specified folder

sami
12-11-2012, 10:37 PM
Yes totally possible and somewhat trivial. I'll throw something together next time I am back at my desk.

TheMightySpud
12-12-2012, 02:38 AM
Excellent stuff thanks :)

TheMightySpud

sami
12-12-2012, 08:56 AM
Here ya go (not the cleanest code - but I slapped it together super quick):

This is a Modeler script:

Edit:
This is the same thing for Layout (just changed "main" to "generic" if you look at the code)

TheMightySpud
12-12-2012, 09:07 AM
That is absolutely outstanding. Thank you so much. I'm going to take a look and take some time to dissect the script to learn something, but I have no doubt I'll have some more questions soon :)

Again, thanks
TheMightySpud

TheMightySpud
12-12-2012, 09:13 AM
Actually thinking about it, and I'm not looking for you to write the code for this one, just a pointer in the right direction....

Is it possible using that same method to get a list of folders and then the lwo's in those folders?