PDA

View Full Version : Draw transparent glyph, ctlimage or Interface background color?

sami
12-07-2012, 08:08 AM
This is probably an old unsolved question, and I'm sure I've asked it before, but I had another look and couldn't find anything definitive, but is there any way to get nicely alpha'ed transparent PNGs or TGAs drawn onto a LScript window? Ctlimage was buggy so I started drawing Glyphs instead and that works nicely, but I can't seem to figure out how to get the alpha to work?

Is it even possible? I'm using Bob Hood's old gendata.ls script to generate my images into text arrays which are drawable by Glyph.

If transparency still isn't possible in LScript, is it possible to get the shade of grey (it changes from install to install & some people have it custom) of the background color and manually tweak the gendata array to have it seem transparent over the window surface. That still doesn't allow you to stack images but it might be better than nothing.

any ideas? thx!

Blochi
12-07-2012, 10:04 AM
Haven't found a way to use transparency either. It works when the Glyph is stamped into an image buffer (in an Image Filter script), but not in the interface. My workaround for the changing background colors is simple: Decide for one of the BG colors and fill the whole ctlviewport with it first. :)

sami
12-07-2012, 04:37 PM
Bummer, thanks, I'll try messing with the ctlviewport then.

Btw, do you know if Python offers us more choices with UI elements and interface stuff than LScript?

Blochi
12-07-2012, 04:47 PM
I don't know. From what I could gather in this thread (http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?131397-Is-it-worth-learning-Python-yet) Python doesn't really cut the cheese yet.
Frankly, I have found ctlinfo and ctlviewport, in combination with drawing callback routines and direct mouse position access in a reqmousedown/reqmousemove is giving me total freedom of interface design.

sami
12-08-2012, 04:05 AM