PDA

View Full Version : FReq: Transparency in LWModeler backdrop images



jeric_synergy
12-05-2012, 10:21 PM
I'm surprised we don't have this (?).

A variable transparency for the backdrop images would be nice, for when Brightness and Contrast are just not enough.

kopperdrake
12-06-2012, 02:43 AM
Don't you hate it when someone states the blindingly obvious and you wish you'd thought of it yourself! Absolutely great and ridiculously simple idea!

+1 for implementation (sits back and thinks of the hours spent tweaking contrast/brightness over the years...hours he'll never get back)

MarcusM
12-06-2012, 06:40 AM
Very good idea, It could be helpful!

3DGFXStudios
12-06-2012, 06:48 AM
Would be nice indeed!

vector
12-06-2012, 09:04 AM
And manage the size of that image without an external editor?

jeric_synergy
12-06-2012, 11:24 AM
Fogged as #53825

TTYTTruth, I was kinda surprised we didn't already have this.

jeric_synergy
12-06-2012, 11:30 AM
And manage the size of that image without an external editor?
What do you mean, Vector?

If I understand what you're asking for:
What I do is :

make a rectangle that has the same number of units h&v as the image has pixels: could be meters, cm, mm, doesn't matter.

Then I use AUTOMATIC SIZE in the BACKDROP tab to size the image correctly.

The backdrop image will conform to the bounding box of the displayed layers.

If you're trying to match a car blueprint, you have to do some math to match the car's RW measurements, but I think most users can do this, or can find a plugin that will scale a properly ratio'd rectangle up to an absolute size. The ratio is the big deal.

vector
12-06-2012, 12:21 PM
Sorry, I was talking about Layout backdrop, EDIT: I miss the Modeler prefix :)