PDA

View Full Version : computer for vt3



pekkaa
11-02-2003, 09:52 AM
Is this good comuter for Switching:

- ATX Supermicro SC742S-420 4x5.25" 7x3.5" SCA hot swap 420 W 434x178x615 mm

-Supermicro X5DA8 dual Xeon
DP/533 E7505 DDR266 3xPCI-X
2xPCI AGP8X 2xU320 2xGbit

- 2 x Intel Pentium 4 Xeon 3 Ghz

- 2 GB DDR266 SDRAM

- 4 x IBM Ultrastar U320 SCA 73GB

- Matrox Millennium G450 16 MB

- Microsoft Windows XP Professional


pekka
FINLAND

Jim_C
11-02-2003, 09:55 AM
IMO Beef up that video card.
16mb is way low.
My preference would be a dual head nvida NVS seriers of some type.

sbrandt
11-02-2003, 09:48 PM
Uhh, I dunno. Looks kinda' dangerous! Tell you what... you hang on to the video card and send the rest of the system to me. I'll dispose of it for you, before it hurts somebody... :D

ricknieves
11-04-2003, 02:16 AM
Well we almost have same configuration and I was wandering if you cud provide me with information on how to make this system work on top potential because I am not very Happy with the results I am getting

Thanks
[email protected]

Following is my VT configuration:

-Supermicro X5DAE dual Xeon (same as your but not integrated SCSI controller)
DP/533 E7505 DDR266 3xPCI-X
2xPCI AGP8X 1xGbit

- 2 x Intel Pentium 4 Xeon 3.06 Ghz With l2 500k cache

- 2 GB DDR266 SDRAM register ecc

- Adaptec SCSI Card 39160 Ultra 160 SCSI (64bit)

- 9 x IBM Ultrastar U160 SCA 36.7GB

- PNY Gforce FX 5950 ultra AGP (256 MB DDR) Dual display

- Microsoft Windows XP Professional :(

pekkaa
11-04-2003, 03:44 AM
Rick:
What is yours configuration biggest dissapoint?
I dont buy anything yet!

My faforite list is:
1. wery stable
2. put text and graphics my 4-5. camera mixing
3. streaming program out picture (and audio) on the Web
4. record program out picture on the SCSI
5. record 1-2 camera picture before mixing

- pekka