PDA

View Full Version : How to join a cube to a circle?

Johnny
11-02-2003, 09:26 AM
how to join a cube to a circle?

I have a situation in which I have a solid rectangular object whose cross-section I would like to become circular, but I can't figure out how to join them..

they each have the same number of segments. I have tried selecting points and using the Make Poly command, but I get mangled distortion..doesn't seem like the right way.

In a way, what I want to do is like skinning, except that I already have something with volume that I want to 'skin' to a circle..if that makes sense.. as opposed to a series of splines.

thank you for any clues!

Johnny

ruejos
11-02-2003, 09:35 AM
Yo! i just a newbie here...........did you try to use the BOOLEAN Commands? Hope it helps....:D

SLAYER
11-02-2003, 09:40 AM
Not sure if I get what you are saying and why would you want to use splines.
If you have a cube and a sphere, I Would use Ikedas connect tool. It is awesome and combines two different parts quickly based off of polygon selection. Very cool tool.

Of course, if your cube has onw poly on each side and the sphere has many in the portion that you would like to connect, you may get some funky results which can be modified easily though.

Also the approach on how to join these two would depend on if you want to use sub-d or not. If not, I would just manually join them probably and maybe use add edges.

Johnny
11-02-2003, 09:45 AM
here's a screenshot of what I'm talking about...sorry, I should have posted it initially..

at the bottom is the 'solid rectangle' of a bottle..I want to make a bottle which is square at the bottom, but whose neck is round (the circle)..

what I'd like to do is make an object whose cross-section goes from square to circular.

thanks!

J

http://home.earthlink.net/~zoomin/join.jpg

SLAYER
11-02-2003, 10:02 AM
I would make that disk a poly and face it toward your box. Make the top of the rectangle polys and use Ikedas connect.