PDA

View Full Version : 16x9 Graphics In the 425



jhsaeger
11-17-2012, 10:07 AM
In the 425 we have been setting up graphics in 16x9, but after they are placed in the system, they show up as 4x3. Usually, these are headshots of a player before a highlight real. Has anyone else had this issue and if so how did you resolve it?

SBowie
11-17-2012, 12:09 PM
What session format are you running the 425 in, and what is the image format (pixel and image aspect, and resolution)?

strodie25
11-19-2012, 11:01 AM
In the 425 we have been setting up graphics in 16x9, but after they are placed in the system, they show up as 4x3. Usually, these are headshots of a player before a highlight real. Has anyone else had this issue and if so how did you resolve it?

I all so had this problem with video.I made a 16 x 9 video with sq. pixels. When I put it in the TriCaster it works fine. When I put it in the new 3 play it squish's the video to 3 x 4. Please let me know how to fix this as I have a game tomorrow. Thanks

strodie25
11-19-2012, 11:09 AM
I am working in after effects in a 16 x 9 format. when i transfer the video in to the Tri Caster it works fine. When I bring it in to the new 3 Play in makes it 4x3.
It is 720 x 534, NCTSC D1 Square pixel. High quality and done in QuickTime. I have tried different combination and nothing has worked so far.
Please help as I have a game tomorrow.
Thanks

SBowie
11-19-2012, 11:52 AM
I all so had this problem with video.I made a 16 x 9 video with sq. pixels. When I put it in the TriCaster it works fine. When I put it in the new 3 play it squish's the video to 3 x 4. Please let me know how to fix this as I have a game tomorrow. Thanks

Same question: "What session format are you running the 425 in, and what is the image format (pixel and image aspect, and resolution)? " When you state "a 16 x 9 video with sq. pixels" you're not really giving us enough information to work with. What is the image resolution? Also, it would be helpful to know what your session format is.

[Edit: I see your other thread has more detail. I'll merge it here so answers can be in one place.]

SBowie
11-19-2012, 11:59 AM
I am working in after effects in a 16 x 9 format. (snip) It is 720 x 534, NCTSC D1 Square pixel.Thanks720x534 square pixel is not 16:9 (and for that matter D1 is by definition not square pixel, either).

Let's take this from the top:

What is the source of the material you are working with in AE?
What is the AE project format (16:9 isn't a complete answer, sorry - what is the resolution).
And what is your 3Play session format?

strodie25
11-19-2012, 12:47 PM
Thanks for getting back to me
1- The materials are high res photos that are animated to make bookends for highlight packages.
2-the project format is D1/DV NtSC widescreen (1.21) this has worked well for videos for the Tri Caster.720 x 480. I have tried to export in different formats but did not really think about my pre project settings.
3- I do not have the 3play in font of me.... but we do it in SD, 16 x 9. Hope i got that right-
Thanks

SBowie
11-19-2012, 12:53 PM
Thanks for the added info.


2-the project format is D1/DV NtSC widescreen (1.21) this has worked well for videos for the Tri Caster.720 x 480.
That's more like it. SD 16:9 is not 720 x 534. For NTSC, it is 720x480 (or 486). It's possible that 3Play 425 is incorrectly handling SD 16:9, I'll check.

strodie25
11-19-2012, 01:06 PM
I tried the 720x480 originally and that did not work either. thanks for your help-

SBowie
11-19-2012, 01:38 PM
Well, honestly, 720x534 would just make it worse. (854x480 would work, though.)

SBowie
11-19-2012, 02:18 PM
OK, having experimented a bit, I'm seeing a little inconsistency between TriCaster and 3Play in this respect. TriCaster 'assumes' that SD video resolution files have rectangular pixels, and - for SD sessions - matches DDR output to the session format (for HD sessions, we always assume SD res images are 4:3). 3Play doesn't adapt to SD 16:9 sessions in this manner (SD res stills are always treated as 4:3).

This has been bugged, but for the moment (for stills) the workaround would be to use a 'true' square pixel conversion (as, for example, 854x480, PAR 1.0).

(It's a bit trickier for video file formats. Without getting into it more deeply, it seems as though some video files retain the wide aspect and others don't. I think I'd be tempted to use 720p or 1080i for the moment if I wanted to ensure 16:9 in an SD session.)

strodie25
11-20-2012, 10:34 AM
I will try this tonight and will let you know how it turns out.

strodie25
11-20-2012, 02:38 PM
I will try this tonight and will let you know how it turns out.

- - - Updated - - -

1080 does work-

SBowie
11-20-2012, 03:28 PM
Yeah, figured it would. Really any 16:9 square pixel format would, but the std. HD formats are handy to set up. This should be fixed in due course, btw.

strodie25
11-21-2012, 10:18 AM
1080 does work-

- - - Updated - - -

Let me know when there is an update for this as we stream in SD
Thx

SBowie
11-21-2012, 12:22 PM
Well, sure, but just to be clear, you can use the 16x9 square pixel stills in your 3Play quite irrespective of what you are streaming. But perhaps there's some aspect of your workflow I'm missing ...