PDA

View Full Version : More RAM or Upgrade



David
11-01-2003, 03:12 PM
I have a Supermicro SUPER P4DC6+ Motherboard, I brought it right before the 533FSB came out. I have dual 2.4 Ghz CPU's and a 1 gig of ram. The Motherboard is only rated for 2.4 CPU's to get to 3.0 Ghz CPU's and DDR Ram at 533FSB I would have to upgrade my motherboard to a SUPER X5DA8. I was debating whether I should upgate to 2 gigs of 800MHZ ECC 184PIN RAMBUS, or just wait untill faster Motherboards and chipsets come out?

When scrolling through and resizing the timeline the computer hangs would more Ram help? or is there a settting I'm missing to help scrolling and Resizing the timeline.

Jim Capillo
11-01-2003, 03:19 PM
Once again.....

What video card do you have ? Latest drivers ? If NVidia, make sure the NVidia manager option is turned off.

Packet writing software (ala Roxio) is a no-no on the same machine.

You shouldn't be hanging up with that kind of machine.

Dealer built ?

eon5
11-01-2003, 04:31 PM
System Preferences
Desktop Caching --> OFF

David
11-02-2003, 01:23 AM
52.16 is the latest driver and I turned off the Nvidia desktop manager. I have a Nvidia FX 5600 Ultra.

I will try tuning off the desktop caching but with a dual Xeon shouldn't I be able to run the VT[3] with desktop cashing on. Isn't desktop cashing on the default setting?

Also, the original question was if I should upgrade the RDRAM Rambus ram since it is still very expensive. Or wait for newer DDR ram Motherboards and CPU's.

Jim Capillo
11-02-2003, 06:12 AM
Some have reported problems with the latest NVidia drivers. I have gone back to 44.23 (I think) and have not had any problems.

Rich Deustachio
11-02-2003, 12:23 PM
I also have heard of problems with the 52.16 drivers.

bradl
11-02-2003, 07:59 PM
I have the exact same system as you. I had 1 gig and upped it to 2 gigs. There was no noticable performance difference on a typical VT3 timeline but it sure made a difference in other areas. Aura, Photoshop, DFX are all serious memory hogs and they are happier. Also I can have one or more of these open with VT3 except in extreme cases.

As far as upgrading, I have considered the X5DA8 because of the bus speeds but mostly because of the 2.4 CPU limit of the P4DC6+. However, I think I am going to wait until the 800 Mhz Xeon motherboards become available. I read last night at Tom's Hardware that it looks like the next crop of Xeon dual Mobo's will only achieve 667 Mhz for some reason.

Hope the wait is not too long as my goal is to build a new system and have 2 VT3's running it da house...

David
11-03-2003, 12:21 PM
45.23 is the driver that I had problems with I have had no problems so far with 52.16.

Can't wait untill there is a dual Xeon 800FSB Motherboard, that would smoke!!!

bradl
11-03-2003, 11:21 PM
David,

Thanks for that X-bit article link!

800MHz Processor Bus in Xeon CPUs Receives Green Light
(http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/display/20030609111726.html)

I also found this article as well:
Intel Xeon DP 2M, Xeon MP 4M to Come (http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/display/20031015070044.html)


The Nocona processor for the Lindenhurst and Tumwater platforms will start in the second quarter 2004 at speeds of 2.80GHz, 3.00GHz, 3.20GHz, 3.40GHz and also 3.60GHz. The chips will contain 1MB of L2 cache and implement support for 800MHz Quad Pumped Bus. The Lindenhurst and Tumwater core-logic for 2-way server and workstation applications respectively will sport not only Nocona, but also Jayhawk processor with 2MB of L2 in the first quarter 2005.