PDA

View Full Version : Question about compositing buffer export



sylvain delmé
11-13-2012, 07:54 AM
Hi everybody,

I want to generate the Object and Surface ID passes with compositing buffer export but the only things I get are greyscale value images. Is there a way to obtain "true" ID passes natively without using DP kit?

thanks

mummyman
11-13-2012, 10:06 AM
I've had good luck using exrTrader plugin from db-w.com. Had bad luck with Lightwave's composite buffer using the Ambient Occlusion pass over the network for rendering. Local rendering worked though. I'll have to mess with surface/object ID's

dpont
11-13-2012, 12:12 PM
Object or Surface ID is a single number, so the Buffer is true,
a scalar/grey is the correct format for storing these values,
but external composite programs use transformed colored ID.

In DP Filter (not DPKit..) Pixel Filter node editor,
it is easy to transform a single ID from LW Buffer in a Color,
linearly or randomly mapped, then the result can
be redirected in an unused LW Color Buffer
for exporting it with LW Compositing Buffer,
or in DP Filter in a Global Buffer.
Optionnaly it can be antialiased too,
but in this case, it is not true...
AA may be not recommended for external
compositing programs.


Denis.

Sensei
11-13-2012, 12:56 PM
Had bad luck with Lightwave's composite buffer using the Ambient Occlusion pass over the network for rendering. Local rendering worked though.

Built-in ambient occlusion nodes are two.
Occlusion II has default interpolation turned on. Turn it off, try again.
On renderfarm you should rather use non interpolated, otherwise flickering might happen. I guess. Because have not checked it by myself.

mummyman
11-13-2012, 01:02 PM
Built-in ambient occlusion nodes are two.
Occlusion II has default interpolation turned on. Turn it off, try again.
On renderfarm you should rather use non interpolated, otherwise flickering might happen. I guess. Because have not checked it by myself.

Thanks for the response...however, I am not using the surface shader / node. I'm using the Image Filter, Compositing Buffer Export in LW11. It does work doing a straight, F9 render, but not over the network. Crazy!!!

Sensei
11-13-2012, 01:14 PM
When I tried enabling Ambient Occlusion in Composite Buffer Export I got warning that this option only works when Radiosity is Enabled.
So it might be calculated "accidentally" when Radiosity is calculated, as side effect.
But Radiosity has a lot of options to speed it up such as interpolation and caches etc. in which case it's not used the same way, and AO might not be filled like it's filled in single frame calculations..

I got correct AO from Composite Buffer Export after disabling Interpolation in Radiosity Render Globals panel.

mummyman
11-13-2012, 01:18 PM
Thanks Sensei... me too.. Just local machines for me. I do have ShaderMeister anyways...which works great.

I do get Surface and Object ID's working fine too with an F9 render.

sylvain delmé
11-13-2012, 03:12 PM
thanks Denis for your detailed reply

sukardi
01-02-2013, 06:33 PM
Hi,

I am having problems with ambient occlusion on network render as well. I am currently using amleto with lightwave 11.03.

Curious to hear if anyone has come up with the solution to this...

sukardi
01-02-2013, 06:46 PM
My current solution - fire up Lightwave in discovery node on my render machines and run RenderQ

Far from ideal solution but the only on that I can think right now...

- - - Updated - - -

My current solution - fire up Lightwave in discovery node on my render machines and run RenderQ

Far from ideal solution but the only one that I can think of right now...