PDA

View Full Version : Stone age.

random_human_02
11-01-2003, 07:44 AM
Hi, I'm new to LW, (I currently have 5.6 - but will have 7.5 sometime today when the ups guy gets here!) and am trying to figure out how to make my text look as though it was chiseled out of rock. I have my text, I then gave it depth (extrude) and now I can't figure out how to make it look chiseled out of stone. I have tried several plugins but they seem to be a wee bit over kill, they cause my text to spike all over the place and such.

If you could point me in the right direction, even if it's a vague direction, that would be awesome.

thanks

hrgiger
11-01-2003, 10:10 AM
This isn't the best example but it only took a few minutes to make. It took several minutes to render however since I used radiosity.
I think it's important to get the feel of rock. Placing little chips and pebbles around the text will help give you the feel of it. I did it in my example using point clone plus in modeler.
If I was taking some time with this, I would have beveled the edges on the rock since right now, the sharp edges take away from the organic feel that rock would have. So make sure you have some beveled edges on your text.
The surface I just made using procedural textures on the bump, diffuse and color channels, using a gradient with a bump input parameter on the color channel to have my color shift depending on the height of the bump map. If I were you, I might try using a displacement map for more realism.
There are some rock presets in Lightwave that might give you somewhere to start.

Good luck with that...

random_human_02
11-01-2003, 10:26 AM
That example is awesome, so basically the texture you are using is giving it that chiseld look?

You lost me on the other stuff (radiosity) but I'll figure that out in time I'm sure. I was under the impression that the model would have the chisled look, and then texture it more from there using a displacment map.