PDA

View Full Version : DV video to RTV?

3dfanatic
10-31-2003, 02:33 PM
Is there any benifit to take all the clips that you put together from a DV camcorder and music and misc other things and first render it to RTV and then to TMPGEnc or is it the same to just let the TMPGEnc take over and do it all for you with the AVI's and Wav files?
When I take the video into RTV I am getting around 120 gig size file compared with just rendering it to mpg which is 5.5 gig. I just don't want to wast alot of time and space if there is know benifit by doing this. I am using VT3, TMPGEnc, and Ulead DVD authoring.
I noticed when converting to mpg it gets a bit blurry is that common?
For 1:45 minutes of tape I am getting around 6.5 hours to encode for TMPGEnc. Seems kind of fast compared to what others have stated? I am using a 2 gig 850 with 1 gig of rambus ram and 2 striped 73.6 seagate cheetah drives which i am getting 33 megs of speed.
Thanks for any help you can give on this, I am just a newbie here trying to get a handle on this in as little time as possible.
Thanks again.

Jim_C
10-31-2003, 03:13 PM
Originally posted by 3dfanatic
Is there any benifit to take all the clips that you put together from a DV camcorder and music and misc other things and first render it to RTV

Nope. The Only, and some have said this is a null point also, time it benefits to go to rtv from DV is if you are doing an extreme amount of layering, compositing, rendering, resaving, etc.

What quality are you encoding in TMPGEnc.
cbr or 2 pass vbr?

3dfanatic
10-31-2003, 03:32 PM
I think originally it was set to cbr but I had maybe a lower k/bits per sec difference so now it is really big file. Well if I set it to CBR with 8000 k/bits its now going to take 9 hours which should give a better picture but I guess I better go back in and delete some scenes if I am planning to put this on one DVD.

Jim_C
10-31-2003, 03:50 PM
Don't delete scenes to make it fit.
Use 2 pass vbr.