PDA

View Full Version : Node editor: one bump texture over many surfaces

rdolishny
10-26-2012, 09:08 AM
How can I add one texture, in this case a bump texture, to multiple surfaces?

I'm new to the Node Editor and it looks like I can only add textures to one surface at a time...

Skonk
10-26-2012, 09:16 AM
Yeh you can only add them to one at a time (unless you use some third party node plugins) but you can setup your bump node and then copy/paste that node onto the other surfaces (and then connect it up).

nickdigital
10-26-2012, 09:36 AM
TrueArt's GlobalMaterials will help if you do this a lot.
http://trueart.pl/?URIType=Directory&URI=Products/Plug-Ins/GlobalMaterials

jwiede
10-26-2012, 10:54 AM
TrueArt's GlobalMaterials will help if you do this a lot.
http://trueart.pl/?URIType=Directory&URI=Products/Plug-Ins/GlobalMaterials
If you're going to purchase GlobalMaterials, also consider purchasing TrueGroup while there, makes it much easier to deal with recurring complex networks by loading/saving as a reusable "group". If GlobalMaterials helps your workflow, you'll almost certainly benefit from TrueGroup as well.

dwburman
10-26-2012, 12:19 PM
The free Pom's Nodes set has a Get / Store set of nodes where you can plug something into the store node and access it in another place with a get node. With that you could set up one store node with the bump you want and then use get nodes on all the other surfaces, so you'd only have to edit the first node set up to change all the other bumps. I haven't actually tried using it yet, and it looks like it hasn't been updated since 2008.
http://www.db-w.com/download/viewcategory/19-free-hosted-lightwave-plugins

It's free, but would probably be more work than using the true art plugins.

jwiede
10-27-2012, 11:48 AM