PDA

View Full Version : Metalink Morph Symmetry Issue

Chris Jones
10-23-2012, 09:07 PM
Here we have some symmetrical fibers parented to a symmetrical morphing object. I applied ClothFX to the morphing object and scanned the motion to create an mdd, then applied FX_MetaLink to the fibers. As you can see, the fiber symmetry is not retained. FX_Hardlink causes the problem to flip to the other side.

http://forums.newtek.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=108736&d=1351049744

I'm not experienced with ClothFX so it's possible I'm misusing it in this instance. Any thoughts?

Thanks!

(c:

nickdigital
10-24-2012, 01:54 AM
I say fog it and send the content to NewTek. I though it might be a point order issue but the fibers don't look to be deforming all wacky.

RebelHill
10-24-2012, 02:15 AM
Its just meta-link... not very good.

Chris Jones
10-24-2012, 07:26 AM
Fogged, thanks.

I'm starting to think it might be something to do with the morph object, as I can't seem to reproduce this with a fresh new mesh. In the meantime I guess I'll be needing another way to lock the fibers to the skin without having to morph the fibers themselves (ie match them individually to the morphs in the other object (ie painstaking)).

(c:

RebelHill
10-24-2012, 09:16 AM
Oh, chris.... its u. I didnt even register the username before.

Well... here's what I do.