PDA

View Full Version : Unplugging of Power Cord during recording



adminssa
10-15-2012, 06:31 PM
Ok,

We were recording and streaming and someone accidentally pulled out the powercord of the tricaster with their foot and the unit powered down. I assumed that even if the tricaster powered down like that during recording it would just cut the video off and record to the hard drive what I have recorded. Is this the case or must the record button be stopped in order for the video to be recorded to the hard drive?

SBowie
10-15-2012, 06:39 PM
Which model?

adminssa
10-15-2012, 07:14 PM
studio tc350

SBowie
10-15-2012, 07:26 PM
It'll depend then. The pre-Rev.2 versions recorded AVIs, and recovery is tricky. Later versions record MPEG-2, specifically because they should be recoverable.

adminssa
10-15-2012, 07:55 PM
Well the build is 100607 doesn't tell me the Revision.

adminssa
11-04-2012, 06:49 PM
Does anyone have an answer to this question?

SBowie
11-04-2012, 07:22 PM
Have you checked yet to see whether the system records AVI or MPEG-2?

adminssa
11-04-2012, 07:46 PM
Have you checked yet to see whether the system records AVI or MPEG-2?

We are recording in MPEG-2 Studio Profile

SBowie
11-05-2012, 05:58 AM
In that case, you've got a good chance that the video will be playable even in a power down situation.

adminssa
11-05-2012, 12:13 PM
In that case, you've got a good chance that the video will be playable even in a power down situation.

Ok well this is what occurred the only video that actually showed as being recorded on the hard drive was when we actually stopped the recording by pressing the record button turning it from red to grey/black. The first part of the video didn't save at all there was only one clip saved. So is it the case I must stop the recording in order for it to be saved to the hard drive.

donny
11-05-2012, 12:37 PM
You may want to check some of the hidden folders called NewTekInfo folders. You will have to turn on show hidden files to see them. You can also check the cache folders at the root of the D: drive.

SBowie
11-05-2012, 12:38 PM
Ok well this is what occurred the only video that actually showed as being recorded on the hard drive was when we actually stopped the recording by pressing the record button turning it from red to grey/black..Where are you looking for the recorded file? Or do you just mean that you don't see a corresponding recording in the DDR playlist?

adminssa
11-05-2012, 01:19 PM
Where are you looking for the recorded file? Or do you just mean that you don't see a corresponding recording in the DDR playlist?

I am looking in the clips folder. I checked in the cache folder on the D Drive for the username that we log on to the Tricaster with and i did find some cache for that file but not a video file specifically.

SBowie
11-05-2012, 02:24 PM
sounds like it might be toast then, sorry. :(

kltv
11-05-2012, 09:22 PM
Make sure you turn on "Show Hidden Files" in Windows. The NewTekInfo folders are usually hidden, and that is where those records are stashed until they complete.

Kris