PDA

View Full Version : Text bending on on a path

Orkman
10-30-2003, 10:26 AM
I need to have a sentence animate along a curved path. It need the letters to animate like a train so they bend around the curve.

Someone suggested the Spline Shift plugin, but it is in Japanese and difficult to figure out.

Isn't there anything native to Lightwave that allows text to bend and animate along a path?

Thanks!

Tom Wood
10-30-2003, 10:37 AM
I haven't tried them yet, but Serpent (page 9.37) or Align to Path (page 11.41) should do what you want.

TW

Orkman
10-30-2003, 10:56 AM
Ahhhh! Those just might do it!

Thanks Tom.

Orkman
10-30-2003, 10:57 AM
I am a newbie, so do I need to bring in a spline to animate on? Or do I just keyframe where it needs to be for both Serpent and Align to Path.

Thanks TOm.

hunter
10-30-2003, 11:36 AM
Not tryin' to be mean. You should really search the forums before asking but,
check here:
http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9256

Orkman
10-30-2003, 11:44 AM
Not mean at all. I actually had someone suggest that plugin if you read my first message, and it is all in Japanese and strange to figure out. If you have the time I would appreciate a spline shift explanation of how to do it.

In addition, I do have it installed, but need just a tad of help to see where to bring it up in layout...I don't see it under "generics."

Thanks!

thekho
10-30-2003, 12:20 PM
Why not using http://www.worldlingo.com/wl/pages/T1/G0/UP46167/P1/l/products_services/worldlingo_translator.html which will translate it for you

Tom Wood
10-30-2003, 12:38 PM