PDA

View Full Version : Parenting Question-



jp206
10-29-2003, 06:22 PM
When I parent and object to another why does it reset or move the object being parented to a different location in the world? this is very frustrating because the object I am parenting is only the first in an IK chain- so if this is the way things work, I will have to realign all of my parts after the parenting procedure.---jp206

Tom Wood
10-29-2003, 07:18 PM
Did you check the box at Layout-General Options-Parent in Place?

That one drove me crazy.

TW

tasmanian
10-30-2003, 12:20 AM
It's your pivot points doing it. If you parent a child object it's pivot point is the point where it gets parented, if your object was not built with the pivot point in the right place your object will seem to jump. Parent in place will make your object stay where it was before parenting, rotation of your child object may still not work as desired though.

Always make sure, in modeler, that you know where the pivot point of your objects is. Default is at 0,0,0. (where the two thicker lines cross).

jp206
10-30-2003, 11:36 AM
thanks fellas, U got it --w/ the parent in place btn.