PDA

View Full Version : LWM: Array/Scale - not functioning?



jeric_synergy
09-13-2012, 10:23 PM
I just spent a fair bit of time experimenting with Array, and AFAICS the Scale parameters don't seem to do anything. I was very surprised.

Didn't they used to apply the scale to each success copy on each axis???

I note that they are ignored in the dox, apparently correctly :dance: , but are still in the UI and in the doc images.

107834
LWM 11.0.3, 64bit

Meanwhile, I still want to make some clones that cumulatively scale.... :stumped:

erikals
09-13-2012, 10:58 PM
no, the scale is just an offset factor, "scale" might be a bit misleading, "offset" would be better.

steve0077
09-13-2012, 11:02 PM
Looks to me that the scale function is the percentage of offset when I use it.

erikals
09-13-2012, 11:02 PM
yep.

jeric_synergy
09-13-2012, 11:32 PM
OK, my mistake, but what's the function I'm thinking of with the accumulating scale??? (and rotation too)
grrr, I use this just often enough to forget where they are.....

EDIT: It must be CLONE, but without the automatic offset it's so damn inconvenient. A combination of CLONE and ARRAY would be very convenient: the accumulation of CLONE with the automatic offset of ARRAY.