PDA

View Full Version : What am I doing wrong now???

Bax33
09-10-2012, 09:16 PM
I thought I'd create a simple animation of a plant leaf drooping. But of course, this would not prove simple (at least for me). I've used Clothe dynamics before, so I thought if I set the stem points as the fixed points and the leaf surface to Cotton clothe all I would have to do is add gravity and then my leaf would droop. Of course not. If the calculation works at all, the entire leaf disappears. If the calculation doesn't work the leaf and stem remain there unmoving like its just trying to out fox me. (I think I've been doing this too long, I'm starting to get a complex with this leaf!) I've loaded the scene and as is probably obvious, I'm still a noob at this.

geo_n
09-10-2012, 10:12 PM
Tried morphs? More control.

phillydee
09-11-2012, 08:52 AM
just a quick observation--didn't really try and tweak stuff but, just from looking at it you could try:

1) separating the leaf from the stem entirely, so you can eliminate the stem from any calcs and possible causes of frustration
2) try scaling up your leaf/stem to where the leaf is like 2 meters long/1 meter wide etc. This sometimes helps. ClothFX has a calc resolution parameter, but instead of reducing that number to 1mm, sometimes the easier thing would be scaling up your object
3) model the leaf with more points to make it ClothFX friendly. Also, evenly spaced points will give you best results.
4) I would just start playing with parameters without clicking on the cotton preset. If you want it to be more 'leafy', I would just start with a lot more "Hold Structure", resistance, and a very low gravity value.

When all else fails... try morphing to a pre-modeled "droop"

Good luck!

Bax33
09-11-2012, 07:27 PM