PDA

View Full Version : Just curios as to who is self taught or school

Fistandantilus
10-28-2003, 08:13 PM
How many of you are

1.Self Taught-Online tutorials etc
2.Learned by reading books
3.Went to school for CG

Also do you think it is necessary to have a degree to be able to work in CG?

tasmanian
10-29-2003, 12:33 AM
I am self taught as far as CG is concerned but I did go to art school and studied classical animation. So I'm sort of half and half.

I don't think it matters how you learn things. A good demo reel is much more convincing than any diploma. Schools have advantages too though. One I would point out is the presence of other CG interested people, be it teachers or students. Never underestimate those contacts. If you want to work in this business you will have to know people. I would say if you can afford a good school go for it, if you can't, don't despair, learn things on your own, might take you longer but if you have it in you, you will get there.

Jimzip
10-29-2003, 02:41 AM
Well that's kind of a tough desicion.. I taught myself, then got some books, then went to animation school!!
Yipe!

I voted self taught though.

CG isn't an industry that's exactly easy to get into. Well compared to others it's quite difficult. If you aren't freelancing you could be on contract from a studio but there is never really guaranteed fulltime work.

Jimzip :D

Aegis
10-29-2003, 03:12 AM
Self taught!

First 3D program I ever used was VU3D on the Sinclair ZX Spectrum - anyone remember that? :D

Next I used Real 3D and Imagine on the Amiga and 3D Studio for DOS before stumbling across LightWave 3D 3.5 - Ahh! Love at first sight! (Actually, there was another Amiga 3D program in there somewhere but I'll be damned if I can remember what it was called - all you could do was build checkerboards and chrome balls anyway...)