PDA

View Full Version : NEWS: Pixar Migrates To OS X.



Ed M.
10-28-2003, 03:01 PM
Don't know if this has been posted yet, but I think a lot of you will be interested in this:

http://maccentral.macworld.com/news/2003/10/28/pixarosx/

Oh, and if anyone had their doubts about the Mac being a viable 3D option, you might want to think again. I expect other SFX companies to follow suit. Then there is the Virginia Tech. thing.. And... Well, you all should be getting the picture by now.

--
Ed

Beamtracer
10-28-2003, 03:09 PM
Hi Ed, it's interesting that even before Pixar decided to migrate everything to OS X, they used mostly Macs and Linux machines, and very few Windows boxes.

js33
10-28-2003, 03:52 PM
It's a good thing Pixar isn't using Lightwave then with all the recent Pather related crashes. You can't animate Woody and Buzz without a graph editor. From what Scott was saying they are aware of the problem and working on it but it didn't sound like a patch would be available in a few days.

I imagine they use Maya and their own proprietary software from the Unix days.

Cheers,
JS

Ed M.
10-28-2003, 03:57 PM
I imagine they use Maya and their own proprietary software from the Unix days.

OK, now I'm curious. I'll reserve judgment until a few others lurking on this thread try and take a stab at interpreting that excerpt. I'm getting mixed overtones. Perhaps some clarification?

--
Ed

js33
10-28-2003, 04:29 PM
Pixar uses Maya (http://www.3dgate.com/news_and_opinions/000515/0515news.html)

"Maya coming to the Mac OS is completely unrelated to Jobs's other company, Pixar (www.pixar.com), so goes the official word. But we here at 3Dgate don't totally buy it—Pixar uses Maya, and a lot of it, and Pixar wants multiproc G4s to run it on. We also wouldn't be surprised to see Pixar take Alias|Wavefront off SGI's hands in the future—any company that develops and uses both Maya and RenderMan would be formidable indeed. "


http://www.creativepro.com/story/news/7414.html

"Pixar uses its own in-house software for almost all of the animation production process," says Darwyn Peachy, Pixar's vice president of research and development. "However, we have used Maya to sculpt the shape of some sets, props, and characters."

Also not to mention all the rumors that Apple was going to buy Alias.

Cheers,
JS

riki
10-28-2003, 04:33 PM
It all seems so simple in the "How we do it" section

http://www.pixar.com/howwedoit/

js33
10-28-2003, 05:04 PM
"Each frame takes 6 hours to render with some frames taking up to ninety hours."

Of course if your farm is big enough and you're not under a deadline I guess they can take as long as they want to.

The motion blur from renderman is sweet. I wish LWs MB was at least half as good. Well if it took me 6 hours a frame I guess I could get it look as good.

I get impatient if my frames take longer than 3 minutes. :p

Cheers,
JS

mlinde
10-28-2003, 06:44 PM
Yeah, when they posted the job for Mac Network specialist I was almost ready to move to SoCal...

dmg3d
10-28-2003, 06:48 PM
Originally posted by riki
It all seems so simple in the "How we do it" section

http://www.pixar.com/howwedoit/

You're right it does... and it IS!

Anybody up for a full-length feature film?!

C'mon :D

-Dave

js33
10-28-2003, 06:54 PM
I'm in. :D

Cheers,
JS

dmg3d
10-28-2003, 07:39 PM
Originally posted by Ed M.
Don't know if this has been posted yet, but I think a lot of you will be interested in this:

http://maccentral.macworld.com/news/2003/10/28/pixarosx/

Oh, and if anyone had their doubts about the Mac being a viable 3D option, you might want to think again. I expect other SFX companies to follow suit. Then there is the Virginia Tech. thing.. And... Well, you all should be getting the picture by now.

--
Ed

Hi Ed-

I got the impression from the article that they're moving all their non-animation computers to Mac...

They'll probably gradually move over all their animation over to a "Virginia Tech" setup and keep using Maya and their "in-house" unix stuff which I'm sure they'll pop over to the Mac.

...and maybe some of that cool stuff will trickle down to us...

-Dave

Jimzip
10-28-2003, 10:13 PM
Hehe, Darwyn Peachy..


Yeah, Pixar has always used proprietary software and Maya. Renderman used to be on the mac, but vanished for a few versions.. ;)
Now speculation (and a certain G5 video) has it that it's returning..


Jimzip :D

Ah the fun to be had with teasers.

Matt
10-29-2003, 02:43 AM
Slightly OT : You know I've been thinking about something for some time now, Alias Studio.

Apples industrial design dept. use Alias (and Pro/E) for modelling all of Apples new products, it must kill them having to use Windows to run it.

So I wouldn't be surprised if Alias migrates to Mac. High-end modelling packages (for industrial design) are the one area of software the Mac has been starved of for well, ever! It's the sole reason I went had to move to a PC.

Jonathan Ive (VP of Industrial Design at Apple) and Steve Jobs are pretty close, or at least they get on very well, so I would imagine that our Jonathan has voiced that as a problem to Steve.

I'm not saying that Steve will convice Wavefront to suddenly develop Alias Studio for Mac, but they might if Apple help / co-fund it.

Just my thoughts . . .

Ade
10-29-2003, 02:50 AM
What would newtek have to do to get some big studio like this to adopt a LW only mentality?

Maya on mac doesnt have an unlimited version?

js33
10-29-2003, 04:07 AM
Why is Unlimited not available when Maya standard is?

Cheers,
JS

fxgeek
10-29-2003, 04:43 AM
Originally posted by js33
Why is Unlimited not available when Maya standard is?

Cheers,
JS

Give it time

dmg3d
10-29-2003, 04:59 AM
Originally posted by fxgeek
Give it time

Exactly!

The snowball effect has just begun...

-Dave

eblu
10-29-2003, 01:21 PM
Originally posted by js33


http://www.creativepro.com/story/news/7414.html

"Pixar uses its own in-house software for almost all of the animation production process," says Darwyn Peachy, Pixar's vice president of research and development. "However, we have used Maya to sculpt the shape of some sets, props, and characters."

Cheers,
JS

JS,
I read that quote when it came out. I also heard through the grape vine that pixar is moving to an off the shelf 3d animation package For Animation and that they made the decision to do that just a little before Maya was released for the Mac. Thats all hearsay, but Its nice to know for a fact renderman is coming Back to the Mac!

Jimzip
10-29-2003, 07:39 PM
It seems strange doesn't it.
Maya only came to OS X at version 3.5, and that was Maya Complete. I would say they're developing it now, but it can't take three years, and nobody can ever be sure. We'll just have to wait and see what Alias is doing when it happens.
Maybe they're re-writing it?

Jimzip :D