PDA

View Full Version : Music Video made with Lightwave and Ipi Soft

caralvive
08-21-2012, 01:42 AM
Hey guys,
I'm new here, I've been working on several small projects with Ipi Soft Mocap and Lightwave 3d, I'm not a 3d pro, I'm actually a film composer who likes to have fun doing some 3d.
Recently a famous Salsa musician friend of mine passed, and I decide to make a little tribute with this animation, it was made with Ipi Soft (1 kinect) and Lightwave 3D. I know there's still a lot to do in order to make it perfect, but due to my film composing schedule right now I decide to post the video as it is....enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dJ4OAVS_3EY

Film Composer
Carlos Vivas
www.carlosvivas.com

Mr_Jones
08-21-2012, 07:25 AM
Great video but sorry to hear about your friends passing.
Thanks for posting this, I've been looking at getting iPi + 1 kinect. I'm not really a character animator so this is encouraging to see. Would you mind describing your workflow a little?

kadri
08-22-2012, 12:20 AM
Sorry about your friend ! It is a nice video and tribute!

caralvive
08-22-2012, 02:18 AM
Thank you guys, I apreciate it!

About my workflow, I've had Ipi Soft V1 for a little more than a year and although at the beginning it was a little frustrating trying to do it with Lightwave 9.5, when I updated to V 10, things got real smooth!

First, let me tell you, this tutorial really really was a life saver for me:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=51juos0TsS8

I captured my motions with only one Kinect, I did it in one single capture from the beginning to end of the song which I put to play on the background for timing reference, (previously I recorded a little musical count down at the beginning of the song so I could start in sync) when capturing my motions I was trying to move as close as my friend did when he was on stage :D

Once I had the 3 min recorded (I made it in the first run!) I re-targeted my character in Ipi studio (watch the above tutorial)