PDA

View Full Version : Skinning problems

esallett
08-14-2012, 05:14 AM
Hiya, Dont know if anyone can help.
Basically, I am trying to skin a rotating pipe with an arrowed png/jpg. I have tried all options I can think of and it is still not working properly. When I skin the object, I am putting it on a cylindrical projection, and putting it on the Y axis. What is happening however, is the skin is mirroring itself half way round, so I am ending up with the arrows coming back on themselves on the other half, or small section of the pipe, which is not the desired effect. I have re-made the pipe about 10 times already this morning to see if it is anything I have done wrong, but it doesn't affect the end result. If you have any idea what I can do, please can you let me know! It is driving me insane!!
I have also attached a JPG of Modeler showing what the skin does. This also does the same in layout.

As this is my first project using lightwave, Im not clued-up on all the short names for everything on here! So in lamens terms would be great! :)

The client is wanting this done asap so if anyone could help it would be greatly appreciated!!

Many thanks

RebelHill
08-14-2012, 05:43 AM
wait... ur doing 3d for a client and u dont know the names for things in 3d?

sorry...

Anyhow. What ur doing is texturing, not skinning, thats something else (just so u know for next time). Also, everything looks fine, so I suspect its just an openGL glitch, have u tried rendering the object viewed from the offending area, does it show in render?

Push comes to shove, just make a cylindrical UV map for ur object and project ur texture using that.

esallett
08-14-2012, 05:51 AM
Everyone has to start somewhere, and I started by getting thrown in the deep end with a live brief!

I will give that a go and let you know the outcome!

Thanks

esallett
08-14-2012, 05:59 AM
Oh, and yes, it shows in the render.. which I hoped it wouldn't and it just be a glitch.

SplineGod
08-14-2012, 08:16 AM