PDA

View Full Version : Is there a way to get Google earth 3d models?



silviotoledo
08-08-2012, 08:33 PM
Let's imagine I want one street or city that google has in 3D. Is there a way to get that 3D models on the professional version of Google Earth or on another way?

Sensei
08-08-2012, 08:38 PM
If rendering is done by gfx card by OpenGL/Direct3D maybe software to capture models from gfx card memory might catch them.

silviotoledo
08-08-2012, 08:44 PM
This is cool! Wich softwares is available for doing this kind of capture?

This would save me from modeling an entire city :)

Sensei
08-08-2012, 08:49 PM
Google bankrupted?

silviotoledo
08-08-2012, 08:56 PM
There's no problem in getting the Google databank :)! They take pictures of my house without permission too :). Why don't you do a 3D bankrupt plugin :)? lol

I know the professional version allow us to get all full res images, but never heard about 3D data :). It would help a lot.

Sensei
08-08-2012, 09:00 PM
I mean enter "capture 3d models" etc. keyword in google and search for such software..

I guess so capturing compressed textures is the easiest to catch by such software, because they must be uncompressed (and there is only one way to decompress data), so it can be used to verify where they are in gfx card memory.

silviotoledo
08-08-2012, 09:03 PM
cool! Found this: http://www.3dpaintbrush.com

Whelkn
08-08-2012, 09:43 PM
usually you can just click on the model in google earth -- or you can find them here.

http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/

you will need an object converter-- but I have used this a lot -- works great

SplineGod
08-08-2012, 11:03 PM
I have a .lwo exporter for sketchup that was posted awhile ago for free. It still works in sketchup8. I uee it to convert 3Dwarehouse objects to lwo. To get the textures I had to export from sketchup as .dae which creates an image folder for the textures. The .lwo exporter preverves the UVs too.

archijam
08-09-2012, 12:43 AM
http://ssimpossible.blogspot.ch/2010/10/technically-second-video-tutorial.html

tyrot
08-09-2012, 03:38 AM
I do not want to hijack the thread but can i ask couple of questions LW to Google earth route? A client asks me to put their villas in Google Earth so ..before googleing i want to ask to my fellow waver friends...

1- Should we use Sketchup no matter what? I mean is there any LWer here who uses LW in order to put models into Google Earth?
2- Or we should just use Sketchup because of it camera projection (photomatch)?
3- Can we add details into Sketchup models in LW? what is the export import workflow?
4- SplineGod where is that exporter?
5- Lets say i model a place and put in google earth - how long it takes to accepted by google? Days ? Hours?

Thanks for the thread... silvio-

prometheus
08-09-2012, 03:50 AM
This might be of some help..this is a mini pipeline thread I wrote for Lightwave to sketchup.

http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=119720&highlight=sketchup

Export from sketchup to lightwave works decently with the lwo exporter that
splinegod mention, but textures donīt come along properly, You have to reassign those, as far as I know of.

Michael

SplineGod
08-09-2012, 03:55 AM
I followed the steps and imported it into LW with no issues.
Heresa quickie render of winslow crater in arizona.

prometheus
08-09-2012, 06:21 AM
Just noticed that Google will not be the owner of sketchup anymore, they seem to join up with trimble.

http://sketchupdate.blogspot.se/2012/04/new-home-for-sketchup.html

If you take a look at the trimble site you will see everything and...:D

http://3d.trimble.com/

Michael

MicroMouse
08-09-2012, 10:30 AM
If you use Windows, try AccuTrans 3D for read and write support for Google Earth KMZ files.

http://www.micromouse.ca/

Wayne

archijam
08-09-2012, 10:35 AM
If you use Windows, try AccuTrans 3D for read and write support for Google Earth KMZ files.

http://www.micromouse.ca/

Wayne

I had no idea, you are great, Wayne! :|D

prometheus
08-09-2012, 10:35 AM
If you use Windows, try AccuTrans 3D for read and write support for Google Earth KMZ files.

http://www.micromouse.ca/

Wayne

Is that necessary, I thought you just can rename extension from .KMZ to collada format .dae and it will be able to load directly to lightwave?

Michael

prometheus
08-09-2012, 10:56 AM
Sorry ..I gave some wrong information above, you need to change kmz extension
to a zip file (not directly to collada .dae)...then extract that and you will have all textures and the collada dae file ready for import to lightwave, no need of accutrans for that conversion I believe.

Michael

MicroMouse
08-09-2012, 01:26 PM
As Prometheus said, you do NOT need AccuTrans 3D for Google Earth KMZ files.

Just change the KMZ file extension to ZIP or vice versa depending on whether you are reading or creating a KMZ file.

Inside the KMZ file is a Collada DAE file, a KML file and any image files used for UV texturing.

Copy a KML file from any KMZ file and as it is an ASCII file just open it in WordPad. Change the settings to properly position your 3D model anywhere in Google Earth. For more information on the settings in the KML file go here
https://developers.google.com/kml/documentation/kmlreference
and follow the links in the left hand column of the web page for more information on Google Earth KMZ files.

A large number of KMZ files at Google Warehouse were made in Sketchup.

Here is a link to another forum where I mention how AccuTrans handles some of the issues with Sketchup and the DAE files it creates.
http://forums.luxology.com/discussion/topic.aspx?id=62694&show=sketchup%20accutrans

Wayne

shrox
08-09-2012, 01:26 PM
Use the pro version, free for 8 hours. If you monitor it, and close it as soon as it is done exporting this can last for several months.

If it's a SketchUp file: Export to 3D, most UV maps make it through, occasionally not. Export to a separate folder so as not to mix up the maps.

Open in Lightwave, scale down by some factor of 3.937 (assuming it was modeled to scale.) Rotate to suit. Save As and you're done.

SplineGod
08-10-2012, 08:05 AM
I followed the directions given in that blender video and was able to get it into LW with no problems. :)
Basically you Edit-select all, edit-unlock-, edit-explode the export as dae.
Load into LW, merge points and turn on smoothing.

SplineGod
08-11-2012, 05:04 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BXfe3xizdnE&feature=plcp

silviotoledo
08-11-2012, 07:32 AM
Thanks for tutorial Larry!

May we use the same technique to get the buildings too?

cresshead
08-11-2012, 10:03 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BXfe3xizdnE&feature=plcp

nice one splinegod!:thumbsup:

tyrot
08-11-2012, 10:13 AM
larry - how about reversing that process - put and lwo onto google earth? who is gonna make a tutorial for it?

Since modeler can not photo match modelling as in Sketchup what is the steps for us? If i want to put a big structure? Should i start in sketchup and then move into Modeler and then turn back to sketchup and put it to google earth...?

thanks

Ryan Roye
08-11-2012, 01:05 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BXfe3xizdnE&feature=plcp

This tutorial is epic win.

prometheus
08-11-2012, 04:40 PM
Thanks Larry for a good tutorial.

Have you checked scaling if that is correct when imported to lightwave through collada?

I mean, when you add to location in sketchup it should be correct in scale to true world etc.

I was testing on a terrain from a park, and I got some levels of altitude, but I would like to enhance the height level since it doesnīt give so much depth to it ..at least not for my selected area of low lands.

I Have no idea how to do that right now, thereīs only terrain toggle on and off in sketchup and no ..how option to raise terrain higher so something might work in modeler, donīt know what though.

Michael

prometheus
08-11-2012, 04:42 PM
Thanks for tutorial Larry!

May we use the same technique to get the buildings too?

would only work to add buildings if they are already modeled by someone, otherwise, you should model them yourself:D thatīs the idea behind this.
The scale is correct when you add locations to your sketchup scene.

At least model simple shapes following the building top view.

SplineGod
08-11-2012, 04:46 PM
Glad the tutorial was useful. The scaling thing should be easy to check on.
This method also works with buildings from 3d warehouse. :)

prometheus
08-11-2012, 05:06 PM
Itīs a little fun to be able to get some fast looks at some interesting terrains, and if needed get it in to Lightwave, However..I have some doubts if it can be useful for anything than merely fun though.

you can with the add location, or the button.. more imagery stitch terrains together, that will give some uggly watermark stitching though from the google mark texts.
The terrain poly resolution isnīt that height either..so very questionable.
You would have to find higher resolution maps from google and take a print screen from it and try to match that with the poly geometry.

interesting to see if anyone can get any use for it though, Event though commercial appliance is ruled out ..reels or personal projects shouldnīt interfere with that.

Michael

SplineGod
08-11-2012, 06:12 PM
In some cases you can find hi rez image maps of the earth in various areas. I converted the meteor crater in arizona and replaced the google image map with another that was many times higher rez and it looks amazing. :)

paul3987
10-11-2012, 12:26 PM
Watch this youtube video... in it I explain how you capture anything you want from google earth...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FbKbEWs_IxA&feature=plcp

Hope that helps

cbreton49
03-02-2015, 12:05 PM
I have downloaded: Google Earth V7.1.2.2041 - 3D Ripper DX V1.8 - 3ds Max V 2015 - and I cannot get the yellow record words up in the left top cornier of Google Earth.
I have tried to get 3de Max V 2011 but cannot find a download. What am I doing wrong, this has been a frustrating 4 day event. Can anyone help me with this???
Thanks in advance!!
Carol