PDA

View Full Version : Rendering

Airwaves
07-20-2012, 12:10 PM
Does anyone know where a beginner can get tutorials or explanations of how to render in Lightwave? I have lightwave 11 and I was just moving a camera in a scene and the clouds came out all funny and fuzzy. I then did the render again but this time I saw that Microsoft compression box and I did full which made the file really large but it came out great.

Do the files always come out that large to keep the quality? Thanks

Cageman
07-20-2012, 12:13 PM
Not sure I understand what you are doing... it sounds like you are rendering to an AVI?

Airwaves
07-20-2012, 12:17 PM
Yes, I am rendering to an AVI. What is the best way? I am very new to this and I even tried the storyboard but I do not know how to make them into a movie. Any suggestions?

nickdigital
07-20-2012, 02:56 PM
Render to an image sequence first and then compile the frames into a movie file.

ccclarke
07-20-2012, 04:45 PM
You have no doubt discovered how large even the simplest animation can be when rendered through Lightwave.

As posted, you need to output all of your rendered frames to a single folder. I keep a Frames folder in each project folder with Rev # attached.

Once you create the finished frames, you'll need to use After Effects, Premier, Final Cut Pro, FrameCycler or a host of other compilers to create a smaller animation file. You don't have to use the latest and greatest version of these programs to do this, so it need not be overly expensive.