PDA

View Full Version : More 3D scanning tests



jabusby
07-17-2012, 11:54 AM
Here is the latest crop of heads scans to come out of our 18 camera rig :) All rendered in Lightwave 9.6 with simple skin..

Cheers

Jamie

http://www.ten24.info/_jamie/scans/Chris2.jpg

http://www.ten24.info/_jamie/scans/Chris3.jpg

http://www.ten24.info/_jamie/scans/Chris4.jpg

http://www.ten24.info/_jamie/scans/Chris1.jpg

http://www.ten24.info/_jamie/scans/Chris5.jpg

http://www.ten24.info/_jamie/scans/Chris_Wire.jpg

http://www.ten24.info/_jamie/scans/Chris_Zbrush.jpg

http://www.ten24.info/_jamie/scans/UV Map.jpg

monovich
07-17-2012, 11:56 AM
These are great. Renders look nice and the tech looks really interesting.

IgnusFast
07-17-2012, 12:22 PM
I only see one image - all the others are broken? Maybe they're on your domain, which is blocked from my worksite.

kopperdrake
07-17-2012, 01:31 PM
Shweet

fazi69
07-17-2012, 01:36 PM
We are obsolete! There is no future for Us. Modeler.

zapper1998
07-17-2012, 01:42 PM
We are obsolete! There is no future for Us. Modeler.

yep....

here comes Sky Net...

:)

jabusby
07-17-2012, 02:26 PM
We are obsolete! There is no future for Us. Modeler.

Ha ha thats crazy talk :) scanning has been around for about 15 years and its not taken anyones job, its only really useful for human heads / bodies and once the scan is done there is still loads of retop / remodelling work to do to get them ready of animation / game engine etc. Anyway Im going to be scanning about 100 -200 models over the next 3 - 4 months with 10 - 15 expressions each and putting them up for sale on our new shop so everyone can learn from them ;)

jabusby
07-18-2012, 01:20 AM
For anyone who is interested here is my skin shader set-up. For lighting I'm just using a HDR I made in lightwave which consists of a room with a bright luminous pane for a window and two more luminous strips on the roof for lights. Its a very simple set-up..

http://www.ten24.info/_jamie/scans/Shader%20Setup.jpg

mike_stening
07-18-2012, 10:12 AM
nice settings there, having a play with them on my berry character as i've never really played with SSS or node textures
those renders are awesome.

Cageman
07-18-2012, 11:06 AM
Awesome work! :thumbsup:

It would be cool to see these rendered with Skin-material in LW11 and compare rendertimes/quality.

:)

jabusby
07-19-2012, 03:35 AM
Thanks guys,

Yea I would be interested to try LW 11 but at the moment 9.6 seems to do everything I ask of it. Ill upgrade at some point..

In the mean time here is a quick rendered video, all done in Lightwave of the above model also a little behind the scene section showing the rig in operation ;)

Ten24 Scanning video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yeNkN3dGRVY&list=UUnzLHCv-tdQDO7mFhPiGDkg&index=1&feature=plcp)

M-X
07-19-2012, 05:05 AM
Amazing work!!! Wow!

geo_n
07-19-2012, 05:09 AM
Impressive detail! Fprime render?

erikals
07-19-2012, 05:29 AM
 
Out of this World!!! \:D

Awesome!!
 

jabusby
07-19-2012, 06:37 AM
Thanks again guys ;)

Yep all fprime I baked the skin texture and Shader down into a map so I could render out the frames really quickly render times on the animation with baked in simple skin and lighting were something like 12 seconds a frame with DOF.

oliversimonnet
07-24-2012, 03:59 AM
Amazing!

sammael
07-24-2012, 09:07 AM
Sick!

ahairgrow
07-24-2012, 09:52 AM
This kind of technology is great and serves several purposes, but it will never replace Modelers. That's like saying Motion Capture will get rid of Animators. It'll never happen. Ten24 is an awesome studio. I've been keeping my eyes on you guys for awhile. (I would love to come and work you) Thanks for posting the Shader setup. I've been doing a lot studying in LWs Node Editor.

Matt
07-24-2012, 07:16 PM
One second, excuse me while I pick my jaw off the floor.

:)

silviotoledo
07-29-2012, 02:53 PM
Hey Jabusby

Is it possible to get tha face model with less cameras? Around 4 or 6?

If you use only one camera and take photos around the face will the model be correct once face can move a little from place?

jabusby
08-06-2012, 10:06 AM
Thanks again everyone :)

silviotoledo:: yes you can do a similar thing with less cameras its just the time it takes to take the pictures usually means the subject moves which will result in less accurate noisier scans..

mummyman
08-20-2012, 12:09 PM
I know the meshes would never line up...but if you can ever get motion from this process... dang.. or even object replacement at each frame...

Excellent looking work and techniques... from excellent software too :)