PDA

View Full Version : 3D into Photage



HolyMonkey-
07-04-2012, 04:45 AM
Is there any quick way of previewing a photage in the background of LW, and placing your 3D object in the correct position?

I tried adding it to background image and VPR but it just comes off as black.

tijgervisuals
07-04-2012, 06:06 AM
1 - compositing options (ctrl-F7) - background image - load image
2 - in camera properties (shift-C / p) set resolution accordingly
3 - display options (d) - camera view tab - camera view background - background image

cheers!

prometheus
07-08-2012, 02:16 PM
If you are using VPR, you could use textured environment, add an image layer, there´s options for front projection,spherical,cylindrical modes, you would preferably want a 360 degree panorama image, search from the web, but make sure you can use it if you publish anything.
I usually set mode to spherical, depending on image you need to change wrap height and with.

heres some backdrops for free use without restrictions, he has great
plugins too, however they are not 360 degrees.
http://www.artssphere.com/textures.php


Search google 360 degree panoramas and search images.
Michael

archijam
07-09-2012, 07:25 AM
Is there any quick way of previewing a photage in the background of LW, and placing your 3D object in the correct position?

I tried adding it to background image and VPR but it just comes off as black.

The above are correct .. though I find what helps is to:

- save a copy of the photo
- mark perspective guides:
horizon
perspective lines (facades or similar)
vanishing points
'flat areas'
- If there are 1 or two distances you know the length of, mark these as well
- work out the relative height of the camera in the original photo

- add some basic guid geometry based on these findings
- THEN fine tune camera location ...