PDA

View Full Version : In a mess with a mesh.

bcicio
06-26-2012, 01:25 PM
Hi guys. Pretty much still a novice here, not using LW very often and still on LW9.6. This SHOULD be simple. I'm trying to transform the mesh on the top side of a block (which I have give a decent amount of geometry) into a terrain by simply lassoing bunches of points here and there on the flat surface and moving them in the Y direction to alter elevation. I apply smoothing to the surface and it looks fine in Modeler -- but when I render the surface in Layout, the surface shows many small tears in it. I've tried subpatching the mesh (both types of subpatch) prior to moving the points, but a render still shows that the model has many small tears.

The reason I am attempting to transform the top surface of a block and not simply a flat plane is because I eventually need to cut the block and show a cross section of the terrain with underlying geology.

I assume subpatching is the correct course of action to take with this, but is there a subpatch setting I should be playing with somewhere that might affect how much the surface will be inclined to tear when stretched? (I'm obviously using defaults.) I just don't get why shared poly edges would separate (aka tear) at all when I am simply moving around their shared points in the y direction. Thanks for any pointers.

lwanmtr
06-26-2012, 01:31 PM
can you post a pic of what you get?

erikals
06-26-2012, 01:55 PM
maybe an old SSS render bug...?

see > http://forums.newtek.com/showpost.php?p=1182625&postcount=11

bcicio
06-26-2012, 02:12 PM
maybe an old SSS render bug...?

see > http://forums.newtek.com/showpost.php?p=1182625&postcount=11

Sorry, erikals. I'm just too much of a novice to see anything wrong in the detail of that model bug example.

can you post a pic of what you get?