PDA

View Full Version : Pose to pose animation

Taro Yoshimoto
06-25-2012, 05:12 AM
Hi, I've got a little ninja character to animate in a cartoony way but I'm a real *** for character animation. Any keyframing I do turn to artefacts party after a while. Shoulders jerking, elbows everywhere... a nightmare.

I've read that IKboost was a good tool to save full poses of a character but that it is broken in the last lightwave versions.

What could I use? I'm a motion designer and can do miracle in After Effects but LW ca is like dark arcane for me.

Any third party software that could help me?

thanks

SplineGod
06-25-2012, 05:22 AM
IKBoost works fine. Im using it in LW11 with no issues. Heres some videos that you might find useful:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bf9zIdMC2MU&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rFQzmXJVT_s&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_KjsV3Cb8YQ&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C3EJ8Wpa888&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4pHqyB-nBEs&feature=plcp

RebelHill
06-25-2012, 05:28 AM
Gah, no, not the IKboost... its AWFUL! Seriously.

Sounds to me like what you've got is just a bad rig that's making things difficult to control... so a better rig is probably the first part of the answer.

However, if as you say CA is unknown to you... then it could well just be that. Takes a bit of time and practice to get right, learn all the pitfalls and how to avoid them. Nothing you can do there but put some time in Im afraid.

SplineGod
06-25-2012, 05:56 AM
Sorry, but Im going to disagree about IKB. It may not be useful for some people but that logic works the same for pretty much any type of rig.
Give things a try and see what works for you. Also make sure that youre using tools properly which is key. :)

RebelHill
06-25-2012, 06:06 AM