PDA

View Full Version : will maya be good ?

rednova
06-23-2012, 01:59 PM
Dear Friends:

I am learning lightwave 3d and I am really happy with it so far.
In the future is possible I can come up with good money to
spend on anything I want to.Is possible then for me to get the
best possible version of maya.
But will do any good for me to use maya ?
Even though I am only a hobbyist, I am looking to become
a freelance animator in the future.
Will maya do any good..if I still use lightwave along ?
Or will lightwave be good enough for a freelance animator ?
Is any reason I should like maya ?
Thanks,

rednova

DigitalSorcery8
06-23-2012, 02:34 PM
Do you have any freelance jobs?

Considering the cost of Maya (not to mention the learning curve), how long will it take for you to pay for the purchase?

Is there anything you have been doing in LW that you can't do and that you NEED Maya?

What exactly do you plan on doing as a freelancer? What kind of animation?

Lots of questions before anyone can really answer you. But... I would say that with LW you're already a good ways there to do whatever you need to do. Why do you NEED Maya?

jasonwestmas
06-23-2012, 03:46 PM
Yes, Learn some stuff from Maya, Max and Softimage, Lightwave etc. if whenever possible. you'll only increase your income if you want to do this stuff for a living. . . so price for a few licenses will become trivial anyway.

The main reason to use maya imo is for the nice dynamics and advanced character tool options.

DigitalSorcery8
06-23-2012, 04:07 PM
Yes, Learn some stuff from Maya, Max and Softimage, Lightwave etc. if whenever possible. you'll only increase your income if you want to do this stuff for a living. . . so price for a few licenses will become trivial anyway.

The main reason to use maya imo is for the nice dynamics and advanced character tool options.