PDA

View Full Version : Can I switch dongle ?



rednova
06-23-2012, 10:11 AM
Dear Friends:

I have a nice pc system with lw 9.6 running.
In two years from now, I can afford to buy a nice brand
new pc system.
Will it be possible, when I buy new pc, to switch my original
dongle, from old pc, to new pc, and reinstall lw 9.6 ?
And then add to it whatever new lw upgrade is available ?
Thank you for helping me,

rednova

nickdigital
06-23-2012, 10:16 AM
Yes, you can use your current dongle on your new pc. The dongle makes lw portable. Keep in mind you still need the license.key file.

Cryonic
06-23-2012, 10:46 AM
You can have Lightwave installed on many systems. The dongle determines which computer can be running the full version. This is also how you can have a renderfarm with Lightwave on each node. You only need the dongle for setting up the models or animations.