PDA

View Full Version : Modeling LEGO style Hair



oliversimonnet
06-18-2012, 07:05 AM
Hello

whilst attempting to create a new Lego character and I ran into a problem
I Have no idea how to go about modeling LEGO hair

Specifically this hair:
http://images4.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20120516192748/lego/images/1/11/Robin_AC_promo.png

Does anyone have any ideas tips or triks on how to create that kind of a shape?

Thanks in advance :thumbsup: :)

Lewis
06-18-2012, 07:21 AM
SubPatches/subDs is obvious answer/solution.

Titus
06-18-2012, 08:21 AM
Once you have tha shape use Thickener, a nice plug-in.

oliversimonnet
06-18-2012, 12:59 PM
Thanks guys! :)

@Titus: Where can I find that plugin? :)

nickdigital
06-18-2012, 01:07 PM
Where can I find that plugin? :)

http://files.designburo.nl/lw//modules/TDMDownloads/singlefile.php?lid=187

oliversimonnet
06-18-2012, 06:27 PM
Thanks Nickdigital :)

erikals
06-19-2012, 08:57 PM
SubPatches/subDs is obvious answer/solution.

and splines...?

Lewis
06-20-2012, 12:11 AM
and splines...?

Well even if you use splines for a start you have to fill-out splines with something - preferably polygons :) and then it's good to be subPatches polys in this case ;).

geo_n
06-20-2012, 01:27 AM
If you have 3dcoat this is very easy to sculpt then retopo.
I am making shapes for 3d printing that would be more time consuming in traditional subd workflow but in voxel>retopo the workflow is faster.

Philbert
06-20-2012, 02:43 AM
Once you have tha shape use Thickener, a nice plug-in.

Thicken from D-Storm is another good option.

http://www.lwplugindb.com/Plugin.aspx?id=7e34d19d

jeric_synergy
06-20-2012, 10:44 AM
Well even if you use splines for a start you have to fill-out splines with something - preferably polygons :) and then it's good to be subPatches polys in this case ;).
I think the commentor meant SplineGod-style spline modeling, which of course gets patched. :thumbsup:

Lewis
06-20-2012, 11:04 AM
Yes Jeric i know what he meant :). I'm using spline patching regularly ;).

Here is one of examples of spline patching to subPatches to get polygon flow as I wanted ;). this would work just fine for that lego HAIR, i just think it's too much for such a simple shape so I'd do it freely without splines :).

jeric_synergy
06-20-2012, 11:59 AM
Yes Jeric i know what he meant :). I'm using spline patching regularly ;).
d'oh! :foreheads Sorry. 8/

And Lewis wins the "Forum Understatement Award" of the week. :thumbsup: