PDA

View Full Version : save lightwave models as w3d file ?



crusader
10-26-2003, 05:53 AM
hello everyone,
I am working on a mod for cnc generals, and I want to use Lightwave, because Gmax doesn`t work.

The problem is, that I have to save my modell as a w3d file.
At first I thought this w3d plugin (shockwave) would be a solution, but it is only a plugin for Lightwave-Layout and saves the scene, not the model.

Please, does anybody know ANY way to save Lightwave Models as a w3d file ?

korn_kid
10-26-2003, 04:48 PM
Are u sure,
becuase whenever I export my animation(as a w3d file), it always includes the model/s.

crusader
10-27-2003, 12:32 AM
Well,
actually I am not sure.

The problem is, that the w3d files from cnc generals make no problems, when I want to open them in Gmax. (w3d exporter)
But as I said, I want to model in Lightwave and when I send my modell to Layout and then File>export>Shockwave3d_export
a new w3d files is created.
But a text file is created too called "filename.W3d.DebugInfo".
And when I try to open this w3d file in Gmax it doesn`t work.

Gmax opens the file, but there is nothing inside.

mcj809s
08-19-2006, 01:12 PM
I have a quick question. Where did you get the w3d plugin for lightwave?

Bladewing51
08-20-2006, 06:51 PM
And do you have the RenX program for Gmax, I remembered when I tryed to make a Mod for generals I had to have both programs.