PDA

View Full Version : 2 Camera Edit in TEd



AntAT
10-26-2003, 02:50 AM
I found a neat way to do a 2 camera edit in TEd with VT[3].

1.Place your 2 video clips, one on top of the other, in the timeline
2.Open up a toaster vision set to program out
3.Click on the bottom video clip to select it
4.Go to a Control Tree Tab, then Click on the Positioning Tab
5.Now this is the cool part. When you drag the playhead in the timeline, you can see the top most clip on the toaster vision monitor and the bottom clip in the Positioner window. Both playing back with audio and video. Now just sync up the 2 clips and away you go.

AntAT

smclaugh5
10-30-2003, 07:28 AM
Will this work in VT 2? Any other methods for 2 or more camera edits?

Steve McLaughlin

Paul Lara
10-30-2003, 08:01 AM
Originally posted by AntAT
...and away you go.

VERY cool!

Thanks for the tip.

AntAT
10-30-2003, 08:19 AM
This will not work in VT[2] because there is no Control Tree positioner. Only in VT[3], sorry for not posting that earlier.

Rich Deustachio
10-30-2003, 09:40 AM
Nice tip! Well if VT3 can display both clips this way, can viewing them both in VTvision all that far off? Hmmmmm.

AntAT
10-30-2003, 09:58 AM
..........

Ivan
11-03-2003, 10:30 PM
Ok, try this, it will work for 4 cameras and you can set it for more if you like. This works best in VT3 but will work in a limited fashion on 2.

1. Find the same in point for all four camera and place a marker on each clip.

2. Double click on the marker and change the color to Red so you know it is the sync marker and put the clips on top of each other in the timeline making sure the markers are all lined up.

3. Select a clip and using Tool Shed position to Upper Right, Upper Left, Lower Right, Lower Left.

4. Open Color Picker and drag a different color onto each clip in the Timeline.

5. In the Control Tree or with a Preset in Tool Shed give each clip a border that matches the color of the clip on the timeline.

6. Select all the clips and hit the "Y" key or check the "Overlay" box at the bottom left of VTEdit.

7. Play or scrub through the video from the beginning, select the clip you want to cut to and hit the "M" key to place a marker.

8. Once the markers are placed, either run a preset in Tool Shed that you created that resets the border, size and position or go to positioner and click "Reset" for each clip to bring them back to original size. (If you reset in Positioner you will need to manually remove the borders by double clicking on the dials)

9. Select all the clips and hit the "Y" key or uncheck Overlay in VTEdit.

10. Hit the "Home" key on your keyboard to start at the beginning.

11. Be sure the clip you want to start with is on the bottom, select the clip that has the first marker on it and hit the Period "." key to jump to the first Marker.

12. Hit the "Z" key to cut to this clip.

Now you can continue to cut to the markers by selecting the clip with the next marker using the up and down arrow keys and once the clip is selected hit the Period key to jump to the marker and hit the "Z" key.

If you have a Shuttle Pro you should be able to map these keboard short cuts to it and have your 4 camera shoot edited in no time.

Ivan

Rich Deustachio
11-03-2003, 11:12 PM
Originally posted by AntAT
I found a neat way to do a 2 camera edit in TEd with VT[3].

1.Place your 2 video clips, one on top of the other, in the timeline
2.Open up a toaster vision set to program out
3.Click on the bottom video clip to select it
4.Go to a Control Tree Tab, then Click on the Positioning Tab
5.Now this is the cool part. When you drag the playhead in the timeline, you can see the top most clip on the toaster vision monitor and the bottom clip in the Positioner window. Both playing back with audio and video. Now just sync up the 2 clips and away you go.

AntAT

This method works for draging but not playing. When you play the timeline the Position display dissapears.

Rich Deustachio
11-03-2003, 11:15 PM
Originally posted by Ivan
Ok, try this, it will work for 4 cameras and you can set it for more if you like. This works best in VT3 but will work in a limited fashion on 2.

1. Find the same in point for all four camera and place a marker on each clip.

2. Double click on the marker and change the color to Red so you know it is the sync marker and put the clips on top of each other in the timeline making sure the markers are all lined up.

3. Select a clip and using Tool Shed position to Upper Right, Upper Left, Lower Right, Lower Left.

4. Open Color Picker and drag a different color onto each clip in the Timeline.

5. In the Control Tree or with a Preset in Tool Shed give each clip a border that matches the color of the clip on the timeline.

6. Select all the clips and hit the "Y" key or check the "Overlay" box at the bottom left of VTEdit.

7. Play or scrub through the video from the beginning, select the clip you want to cut to and hit the "M" key to place a marker.

8. Once the markers are placed, either run a preset in Tool Shed that you created that resets the border, size and position or go to positioner and click "Reset" for each clip to bring them back to original size. (If you reset in Positioner you will need to manually remove the borders by double clicking on the dials)

9. Select all the clips and hit the "Y" key or uncheck Overlay in VTEdit.

10. Hit the "Home" key on your keyboard to start at the beginning.

11. Be sure the clip you want to start with is on the bottom, select the clip that has the first marker on it and hit the Period "." key to jump to the first Marker.

12. Hit the "Z" key to cut to this clip.

Now you can continue to cut to the markers by selecting the clip with the next marker using the up and down arrow keys and once the clip is selected hit the Period key to jump to the marker and hit the "Z" key.

If you have a Shuttle Pro you should be able to map these keboard short cuts to it and have your 4 camera shoot edited in no time.

Ivan

Nice workarounds for features we all really need to have built into VT3. Multi cam features were being talk aboout in VT2 and now that VT3 is here we still don't have it. I hope a multi cam feature is added soon. It is a much needed feature that many have requested..

Ivan
11-04-2003, 08:42 AM
It is aworkaround now but someone with Toaster script experience should be able to program much of this into a couple of keystrokes. A single key stroke to position and color the clips and a single keystroke to reset them, find the markers and do the cuts. All that you would need to do is time up the clips and set the markers. I am looking into it in my spare time but I haven't tried anything yet.

Ivan

ScorpioProd
11-04-2003, 11:49 AM
But the thing is, there should be a MUCH easier, more automated way to do MCE like we could do in the old Classic Toaster/Flyer or in any number of other current NLEs out there.

Most importantly, YEARS ago now, Newtek hired Aussie, the genius behind MCE for the Classic Toaster/Flyer.

The fact that VT[3] doesn't have this feature yet, years later, tells me that there must be some important limitations still preventing it in VT[3]. If it could have been done, Aussie would have done it by now.

Ivan
11-04-2003, 12:23 PM
I have MCE and a Flyer and you still needed to set it up. It did pretty much allow for unlimited number of cameras which I don't think will be possible with VT for some time.

Ivan

ScorpioProd
11-04-2003, 04:48 PM
Sure, you needed to set it up, but it certainly helped you do that.

A way to easily synchronize all your cameras and KEEP them synchronized and LOCKED together. Virtual A/B roll editing while seeing both sources full screen. A really good system.