PDA

View Full Version : Instancing 6.442.450.944.100.000 polygons on Lightwave



silviotoledo
06-06-2012, 12:57 PM
Looking at a LEWIS instancing animation at this post:

http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?p=1248937#post1248937

I decided to do a test and I think the result was so amazing that I will need to share on a dedicated post here too :). The image is not beauty but see the data.

So I dare you to get a better Record :) and you can.

I did not use all the memory my PC have but it seems I got the limits of instances.

May another software do that????

OnlineRender
06-06-2012, 01:03 PM
statistics panel or it never happened !

silviotoledo
06-06-2012, 01:28 PM
yeah, it can't be true. Something must be too wrong here.

Anyway see the number of instances I added and the number of polys in scene ( that LW statistic does not count with instances ) and do a math...

My tree have 300 k polys the rest belong to the terrain.

Actually I'm doing same render with Radiosity. You see there my last render time with no radiosity 11 minutes 1 second time.

I think that there's too much objects in each pixels and Lightwave does not count it on render.

Who is crazy here? me or lightwave?

silviotoledo
06-06-2012, 02:19 PM
Wonderfull! Now with GI.

more than 6 quatrillions polys?

erikals
06-06-2012, 02:21 PM
Cooool..! http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif

torturebori007
06-06-2012, 02:40 PM
HOLY CRAP! Awesome

Sensei
06-06-2012, 03:15 PM
2147483647 is the highest 32 bit signed integer value (2^31-1).

Are you exciting about polygons that don't exist?

Render-time rendering instancing is just transformation of ray origin and ray direction..

BTW, you used Point mode.. entering anything what is higher than number of points in geometry is automatically truncating to maximum number of points..
After entering 2147483647 in instance count, and switching to Surface mode, I have instant Runtime exception message.

Lewis
06-06-2012, 03:20 PM
First thing (ok well 2nd actually) what I was asked when instances come out is "WHY can't we have instances polycount on stats" :D. DEVs asked me: "why would you need that", well i still think it would be very cool to have it (on render stats), if nothing else then to promote/brag about LW :D.

zarti
06-06-2012, 03:27 PM
totalPolysNumberOfAllInstances = numberOfPolysOfOneModel * numberOfInstances

afaik , you can use any numerical input field to get that .

you do not need even a calculator .




.peace

Cageman
06-06-2012, 03:44 PM
first thing (ok well 2nd actually) what i was asked when instances come out is "why can't we have instances polycount on stats" :d. Devs asked me: "why would you need that", well i still think it would be very cool to have it (on render stats), if nothing else then to promote/brag about lw :d.

+1

Cageman
06-06-2012, 03:47 PM
One thing on the plus side for LW regarding Instancing, at least in my opinion, is that it is extremely easy to work with and set things up. Granted, there are some limitations and bugs, but compared to setting Instancing up in Maya, LW is extremely artist-friendly.

:)

roctavian
06-06-2012, 03:56 PM
First thing (ok well 2nd actually) what I was asked when instances come out is "WHY can't we have instances polycount on stats" :D. DEVs asked me: "why would you need that", well i still think it would be very cool to have it (on render stats), if nothing else then to promote/brag about LW :D.

Hihihi, :D that is one brilliant argument. :thumbsup:

But with one condition: to fix first the bloody baking camera. If not the single thread bug, at least a decent padding.:devil:

silviotoledo
06-06-2012, 07:25 PM
2147483647 is the highest 32 bit signed integer value (2^31-1).


yeah! but I'm using 64 bits. How much polys should I have exactly then?

Sensei
06-06-2012, 07:34 PM
2^63-1=9223372036854775807

But you can't enter anything bigger than 2147483647, can you?

I told you- turn on Surface mode, Points mode has exactly the same number of instances, as you have points.. So it's not 2147483647 really..

Sensei
06-06-2012, 07:40 PM
It doesn't matter what machine you have or use- 32 bit machine can use 64 bit integers and 64 bit floats. So the same 64 bit machine.

64 bits defines memory address space- length of pointer to memory. On 32 bit machine it's always 4 bytes, on 64 bit machine it's always 8 bytes. That's why 64 bit machine/app is slower than 32 bit machine/app with the same cpu clock- more memory is copied between physical memory and cache memory.

Lewis
06-07-2012, 06:31 AM
Good for you Oliver but it'd still like to have that number of instancing polys at rendertime, modo has it so why not LW :D :D ;).

erikals
06-07-2012, 06:54 AM
to me it just seems more logic with polys, that's usually what we all refer too...
no biggie though, other things that are more important...

Mr. Wilde
06-08-2012, 06:40 AM
Here's a general question: how the hell does Instancing work?
There still need to be ray tracing calculations done for 6.442.450.944.100.000 polygons just like with regular cloning, doesn't it? Are there any limitations when it comes to reflection, refraction, radiosity, etc...?