PDA

View Full Version : Yet another AC3 thread

mgrusin
10-25-2003, 11:39 AM
This is a bump from another thread and may be naive as I'm still learning some of this stuff...

Are there any standalone licensed AC3 codecs available which can be operated directly from the toaster, or even the command line for that matter?

I'm trying to make extremely compatible NTSC DVDs and have had various playback issues with both PCM and MP3 audio. I've read opinions that AC3 audio (even two-channel) might help here. I've also read opinions that BeSweet, being unlicensed, can cause its own set of problems.

I'm currently (and happily) using VT3 for editing, TMPGENC for encoding, and DVD-Lab for authoring and burning. I don't mind paying for a licensed AC3 encoder, but I'd prefer not to have to buy another major software package to get it if I can avoid it. (I like the component approach, and between VT3 and LW8, I think my software budget has been met for this year. :D )

Thanks for any advice, -MG

ScorpioProd
10-25-2003, 06:08 PM
Unfortunately, VT[3] doesn't have a plug-in architecture for standard stuff like DirectX audio or VST plug-ins, so I don't see what you're asking for happening in VT[3].

Your cheapest route is actually to buy another application.

The stand-alone encoders like the excellent one called SurCode, are much MORE expensive than full NLE or authoring apps that include AC-3 encoding. Unless your NLE supported DirectX audio plug-ins, which is doesn't.

I recommend staying away from BeSweet, I've heard too many compatibility issues with its unlicenced encoding.