PDA

View Full Version : Image Resolution for Screen shot of logo

Airwaves
05-31-2012, 02:41 PM
Ok, so I am doing a screen shot of a logo and using it to make a bumper sticker and other signs from.
What is the best settings under Render globals that I should use to make it a very good image. I have played with lots of settings and gone through tutorials but I need an opinion on the best high pixel setting. I am still new to lightwave but am learning. Thanks all.

Using lightwave 11.

ShadowMystic
05-31-2012, 02:59 PM
That is difficult to say because its all relative to size. However, I am confused on how exactly you are obtaining your source image.

If you are taking a screen shot, whatever size will be usually 72 ppi. This is NOT adequate for printing. If you are rendering from a model that is different. You need between 130-300ppi AT FULL size.What that means is if you need to render 5x5 in inches, that would be 5x300 by 5x300 so 1500 by 1500 for 5x5. If you need it to be double that size you double your resolution.

Lightwave is easier than scanning because if you are scanning, you have to have double dpi to later blow up your image cleanly following a formula.

I wish I could help more but it has been a while since I have dealt with print graphics so someone may have to correct me.

Airwaves
05-31-2012, 03:18 PM
So to give more detail I made a logo in modeler and was pressing F9 to get images. I am attaching a screen shot of the settings I am using. The print service I am using says to use at least 300 pixels per square inch. What setting do I change to get that? Thanks

Airwaves
05-31-2012, 03:21 PM
I forgot to attach it. Here it is.

flakester
05-31-2012, 03:37 PM
First, find out the size of the destination media - the bumper sticker, in inches.

And as ShadowMystic rightly quoted, the number of inches in each axis / direction should be multiplied by 300 (this will give you Dots Per Inch) as a minimum rule; higher can mean better under some conditions.